202014年XNUMX月

发生电池损坏。 你不能阻止它。 这是物理学的一部分。 是的,可以缓解这种情况。 有可能推迟其发作。 可以减少其影响(这是我们Qnovo公司所做的工作的一部分)……但是它始终存在,我们需要对其进行处理。 电池制造商倾向于在地毯下扫除这个问题,但现在又回来了,让他们很难受。

用技术术语来说,电池内部的这种损坏用“循环寿命”来表示。从本质上讲,它是衡量电池在被视为耗尽之前可以充电和放电多少次的度量。 正如我在上一篇文章中提到的那样,当电池的最大容量达到新电池原始容量的80%时,该电池就被视为已耗尽。 可以这样说,新电池在使用的第一天最大容量为2,500 mAh。 经过多次充放电后,内部损坏会降低此最大容量。 最终,该数字达到80%x 2,500 mAh = 2,000 mAh,在这一点上,它被正式视为“已死”,即需要更换。

为什么是80%? 而不是75%或63.1849%? 因为经验表明,很快超过了80%标记,损坏会迅速加速,电池容量会迅速下降。 不好!

但是现在你说,我怎么知道好吧,欢迎来到电池制造商如何指定其产品的不透明世界。 作为消费者,您不知道,也无法轻松衡量它。 设备制造商告诉您信任我,但您不应该! 您可以从Apple或Google商店下载的所有这些应用程序也不会告诉您任何信息。 现在,可悲的是,您唯一可以确定电池已耗尽或即将耗尽的方法是,因为它感觉即将耗尽。 您的电池续航力不足几个月,无法持续一天。 现在确定,您还必须确保没有一个或多个恶意应用在后台耗尽电池电量。 因此,如果您重置甚至恢复了移动设备,但其电池仍未送达,则表明电池电量有问题。 如果您问“你为什么不能解决它,“ 答案是 ”我们可以并且我们是。”如果怀疑电池循环寿命受到影响,请让您的移动设备制造商知道您不满意。

让我们回到循环寿命。 如您所见,循环寿命和电池容量紧密相连。 容量实际上是您在使用第一天所获得的容量,而循环寿命是衡量电池容量寿命的量度。 循环寿命几乎就像杂货店一加仑牛奶上印的“有效期”一样; 除了想象杂货店决定有一天只是简单地取消打印这个关键日期。 杂货店不敢这样做! 好吧,许多移动设备制造商选择隐藏或不公开循环寿命-有效地隐藏了电池的这个失效日期。 我们正在努力改变这种行为。 但是现在,我将给您一些有关如何处理此问题的提示和技巧。

大多数移动设备(包括智能手机和平板电脑)的额定使用时间为500次,即,您(消费者)可以在电池被认为没电之前连续进行500次完全充电和完全放电。 有些设备比其他设备做得更好。 例如,较旧的Apple iPhone持续了超过500个周期,而其他的iPhone要么制造了500,要么就落后于这个数字。

但是某些运营商(或运营商在美国以外被称为“美国以外”),尤其是Verizon Wireless,开始要求移动设备制造商将其循环寿命规格提高到800或更多循环,以有效地为设备提供2的保修期。 。 这个新规范开始大量涌现,但电池制造商并不满意! 对于他们来说,提高自行车的寿命性能并不容易,想一想,他们中的大多数人都位于亚洲,他们不喜欢寻求帮助!

因此,制造商增加循环寿命的诀窍之一是-紧握座位-增加充电时间! 哎哟! 现在,您越来越熟悉电池制造商所遵循的电池重击策略。 您想要更多的容量,那么,您可能会获得更糟糕的循环寿命……您想要更好的循环寿命,那么,您将会获得更糟糕的充电时间……。依此类推。

幸运的是,已有解决此问题的技术……移动设备制造商必须更广泛地部署它。 目前,这里有一些提示(尽管有一些不便之处),您可以申请延长电池寿命:

  • 使用PC或笔记本电脑上的USB端口(而不是壁式充电器或AC适配器)为设备缓慢充电。 这有效地将充电电流限制为500 mA。 是的,它很慢,但是如果您不着急,它将为您的电池供电。
  • 在室温下充电! 在炎热的晴天中,或者不在寒冷的冬季中,不在汽车的仪表板上。 电池讨厌在极端温度下充电,尤其是在60以下时 °F(或15 °C),以及95以上 °F(或35 °C)。
  • 如果您不在旅途中或需要整天为手机充满电,请为电池充电大约80或85%,而不是100%。 这也将有助于减轻电池负担。

以后再说。

20Sep 2014

Damage in a battery happens. You can’t stop it. It’s part of the physics. Yes, it is possible to mitigate it. It is possible to postpone its onset. It is possible to reduce its impact (that’s part of what our company Qnovo does)… But it’s always there and we need to deal with it. Battery manufacturers have tended to sweep this issue under the rug but it is now coming back to bite them hard.

In technical terms, this damage inside the battery is referred to in terms of “cycle life.” It is essentially a measure of how many times the battery can be charged and discharged before it is deemed dead. As I mentioned in the previous post, a battery is deemed dead when its maximum capacity reaches 80% of its original capacity as a fresh battery. So say a fresh battery has a maximum capacity of 2,500 mAh on its first day of use. After some number of charges and discharges, the internal damage reduces this maximum capacity. Eventually, this figure reaches 80% x 2,500 mAh = 2,000 mAh at which point it is officially deemed to be “dead”, i.e., it needs to be replaced.

Why 80%? and not 75% or 63.1849%? Because experience has shown that shortly past the 80%-mark, the damage accelerates rapidly and the battery capacity plummets very quickly. Not good!

But now you are saying, “how can I know?” Well, welcome to the world of opacity in how battery makers specify their products. As a consumer, you don’t know, nor you can measure it easily. Device makers tell you trust me, but you should not! All these apps that you can download from the Apple or Google stores also don’t tell you anything. Right now, sadly, the only way you can tell that your battery is dead or dying is because it feels that it is dying. Your battery can’t last you the day when only a few months earlier it did. Now to be sure, you also have to make sure that you don’t have one or more rogue apps draining the battery in the background. So if you reset or even restore your mobile device and its battery is still not delivering, then it is a fairly strong hint that something is very wrong with the battery. If you are asking “why can’t you fix it,” the answer is “we can and we are.” Let your mobile device manufacturer know that you are not happy if you suspect your battery cycle life is compromised.

Let’s get back to cycle life. As you can see, cycle life and battery capacity are very closely tied together. Capacity is effectively the capacity that you get on your first day of operation, and cycle life is a measure of longevity of your battery’s capacity. Cycle life is almost like the “Expiration Date” printed on a gallon of milk at the grocery store; except imagine that grocery stores decided one day to simply eliminate printing this crucial date. Grocery stores don’t dare do it! Well, many mobile device manufacturers choose to hide or not disclose the cycle life — effectively this expiration date of the battery is hidden. We are working on changing this behavior. But for now, I will give you some hints and tips on how to deal with this.

Most mobile devices including smartphones and tablets are rated to 500 cycles, i.e., you, the consumer, can expect to have 500 consecutive full charges and full discharges before your battery is deemed dead. Some devices do better than others. For example, older Apple iPhones lasted more than 500 cycles, whereas others either made 500 or fell shy of that figure. 

But some carriers (or operators are they are called outside the US), and in particular, Verizon Wireless, began demanding that mobile device manufacturers increase their cycle life specifications to 800 or more cycles, to effectively cover a 2-year warranty on the device. This new specification is beginning to proliferate but battery manufacturers are not happy! Increasing cycle life performance is not easy for them, and guess what, most of them are based in Asia and they don’t like to ask for help!

So one of the tricks that manufacturers do to increase cycle life is to — hold on to your seat — increase charge times! Ouch! Now, you are becoming increasing familiar with the battery whack-a-mole strategy that battery manufacturers follow. You want more capacity, well, you may get worse cycle life…you want better cycle life, well, you will get worse charge times….and so on.

Fortunately, the technology to fix this whack-a-mole problem already exists…mobile device manufacturers have to deploy it more universally. For now, here are some hints — albeit a little inconvenient — that you can apply to extend the cycle life of your life battery:

  • Charge your device slowly using the USB port on your PC or notebook, not wall charger or AC adapter. This effectively limits the charging current to 500 mA. Yes, it is slow, but if you are not in a rush, it will help your battery.
  • Charge at room temperature! Not on your car dashboard in the middle of a hot sunny day, or worse yet, in the middle of a cold winter. Batteries hate being charged at temperature extremes, especially below 60 °F (or 15 °C), and above 95 °F (or 35 °C).
  • If you are not traveling or need your phone fully charged all day, then charge your battery to about 80 or 85% — not to 100%. This will also help being gentle on the battery. 

More later.