312018年XNUMX月

我从写作中获得的休息已经结束。 我希望很多读者花时间阅读,重读和消化我在早期博客中分享的见解。

我的回归主题是电池安全性。 自从2016开始 三星注7 成为头条新闻,有无数关于电池安全问题的报道,其中一些有灾难性后果。 虽然它们是不祥的,但这些事件都包含在第二页,而不是第一页。 但这不应该让我们任何人安心......就像那句老话“哪里有烟,就有火

“华盛顿邮报” 据其他媒体机构报道,在美国街道上部署数千辆电动滑板车的公司Lime已经召回部分摩托车,因为他们的电池存在火灾危险。 该公司在一份声明中承认,“制造缺陷”可能会导致“电池闷烧”。事实上,在8月27上,一辆Lime踏板车在该公司的Lake Tahoe工厂引发了火灾。

莱姆说这个问题很少见,只有0.01百分之百的摩托车被召回。 事实上,在电池安全方面,0.01百分比不是一个小数字。 对于三星Note 7来说,这个数字不到一半......但是,它并不漂亮。

Lime踏板车的故事并不是唯一一个凸显锂离子电池安全风险上升的故事。 今年6月22,马来西亚科技公司Cradle Fund的首席执行官Nazrin Hassan死于他的智能手机,据说他睡在附近的卧室里爆炸。 哈桑的姐夫说他有两部智能手机,一部是黑莓手机和一部华为手机。 他们不知道哪一个爆炸了。

这些只是最近的两个例子,其中电池安全导致或冒险导致悲剧和灾难性后果。 网络搜索“锂离子电池火灾”返回超过21百万条目。 因此,如果电池火灾风险如此真实且越来越普遍,为什么我们不更认真地对待这个问题呢?

来年将见证部署 5G 无线网络。 这是我们通过无线设备进行通信的一个惊人的新进展。 但5G也会对电池造成严重负担。 我们已经在测试终端电压为的新一代锂离子电池 4.45 V。 从透视角度来看,电池电压以前只是几年前的4.2 V. 电池电压的增加已经消除了老一代电池中的任何安全裕度。

电动汽车的数量正在增长。 特斯拉车型3在今年夏天被评为北美最畅销的轿车。 更多汽车制造商正在街道上推出更多电动车型。 这是绿色交通的一次伟大演变。 但我们将如何应对车辆中的电池火灾?

从统计学上讲,每100万台设备的电池事件发生率约为10至100(技术术语,10至100 ppm)。 这可能听起来像一个小数字,但当与数十亿使用电池的设备相乘时,安全问题的数量变得非常麻烦。 然而,有些技术可以将这个数字减少100(降至十亿分之一甚至更低)。 是时候更严肃地对待电池安全了。

31Oct 2018

The break I took from writing is over. I hope many of the readers took the time to read, re-read and digest the insight I shared in my earlier blogs. 

My return theme is around battery safety.  Since 2016, when the Samsung Note 7 became headline news, there have been countless reports of battery safety problems, several of them with catastrophic outcomes. As ominous as they are, these events are covered on the second page, not the first page. But that should not offer any of us any peace of mind….as the old saying goes “where there is smoke, there is fire.”

The Washington Post and other media outlets reported today that Lime, the company that is deploying thousands of electric scooters on US streets, has recalled some of its scooters because of the risk of fire in their batteries. The company, in a statement, admitted that a “manufacturing defect” may result in the “battery smoldering.” Indeed, on August 27, a Lime scooter caused a fire at the company’s Lake Tahoe facility.

Lime said that the problem is rare, with only 0.01 percent of its fleet of scooters recalled. The fact is that 0.01 percent is not a small number when it comes to battery safety. For the Samsung Note 7, that figure was less than half….yet, it was not pretty. 

The Lime scooter story is not the only one that highlights the rising safety risks of lithium-ion batteries. On June 22 of this year, Nazrin Hassan, CEO of Malaysian tech company Cradle Fund died at the hands of his smartphone which allegedly exploded in his bedroom as he slept nearby. Hassan’s brother-in-law said that he had two smartphones, a Blackberry and a Huawei. They did not know which one exploded. 

These are just two recent examples where battery safety caused or risked causing a tragic and catastrophic outcome. A web search for “lithium-ion battery fire” returns over 21 million entries. So if battery fire risks are so real and increasingly common, why are we not taking this issue more seriously?

The coming year will witness the deployment of 5G wireless network. It is an amazing new evolution in how we communicate via wireless devices. But 5G will also place a severe burden on the battery. We are already testing new generations of lithium-ion cells with terminal voltage of 4.45 V. To put in perspective, the battery voltage used to be 4.2 V only a few years ago. The increase in battery voltage has erased any safety margin that was built in the older generations of batteries. 

Electric vehicles are growing in numbers. The Tesla model 3 was ranked among the best selling sedans in North America this summer. More auto manufacturers are introducing more electric models on our streets. It is a great evolution towards green transportation. But how will we react to battery fires in vehicles?

Statistically speaking, battery events occur at the rate of about 10 to 100 failures for every one million devices (in technical lingo, 10 to 100 ppm). This may sound like a small numerical figure, but when multiplied with the billions of devices that use batteries, the number of safety problems becomes very troubling.  Yet, there are technologies that can reduce this figure by a factor of 100 (down to parts per billion or even lower). It’s time that the battery safety is taken far more seriously.