182018年XNUMX月

5G是运营商今年晚些时候开始部署的现有LTE无线网络的演进。

是的,这将是 国际 网络,全球的每个地理区域都将在将来的某个时刻加以利用。

是的,它将有 强大的功能,从几乎没有延迟的流媒体视频开始,并无缝处理大量已连接的设备(例如传感器)。

是的,它会的 镀锌 可能尚未想到的一组新应用程序。 试想一下,前几代人在推广社交网络,视频和其他十年前不可能实现的用途方面做了哪些工作。

是的,它将有 严重 对电池造成的后果。 网络对设备(尤其是手机或智能手机)的要求非常重要。 早期的结果表明,运行智能手机的芯片组的功耗要高出25到50%。

是的,努力将是 严罚 以提高电池的性能和安全性。

有关5G及其计划部署的文章很多。 不幸的是,覆盖范围往往集中在5G的优势上,而忽略了对电池的影响。 如果有的话,与目前的数据相反,在保证更长的电池寿命方面可能会产生误导。

下图(由Verizon Wireless提供)强调了5G的三个主要方面。 在通常位于600 MHz和900 MHz之间的低频段,5G将继续提供移动宽带,类似于智能手机或手持设备上的4G / LTE连接。 在这些频率下,网络将因物理原因而被限制为每秒数百Mbit的最大数据带宽。

5G引入了一组高达6 GHz的新频带,其中数据速率可以达到每秒一个或多个Gbit。 这些更高的数据速率将提供具有更快连接性的新服务,或者像Verizon Wireless所称的那样,增强移动宽带。

最后一个频率档高于24 GHz,此时数据速率现在可以达到10 Gbits每秒或更高。

关于电池,这里有三个要点。

首先,使用5G的数据流量将大大增加。 每一位数据消耗少量的电池电量。 尽管电子设备的电源使用效率越来越高,但这种效率与数据流量的大量增加无法匹敌,预计数据流量将比当前的数量高出1,000X。 毫无疑问,这将是对电池要求的第一压力,需要更高的电池容量和能量密度。

第二个观察结果比较微妙,但可能更有效。 5G网络以非常低的延迟提供了对时间和任务至关重要的新应用程序。 换句话说,数据从一台设备到另一台设备往返并返回到原始设备所需的时间(工程师称等待时间)将从现在的100毫秒(毫秒)左右减少到更少比10毫秒长。

谁在乎,你可能会问! 想象一下,高速公路上有两辆自动驾驶汽车以65 mph(105 km / h)的速度行驶。 在10毫秒内,车辆将行驶近一英尺(约30厘米)。 以100毫秒为单位的距离为十英尺或近三米。 这是避免发生碰撞或可能发生的悲剧性事故之间的区别。

但是低延迟意味着应用处理器(或CPU)的闲置时间将大大少于今天。 您会看到,电池供电的设备在很长一段时间内都依靠电子设备处于睡眠状态(不消耗电源)来节省电池。 因此,当处理器需要长时间唤醒时,它将对功耗以及电池产生重大影响。

第三个也是最后一个发现与3 – 6 GHz上的新频段以及24 GHz以上的频段有关。 物理学告诉我们,功耗随频率线性增加。 因此,仅从900 MHz频带扩展到6 GHz频带,就会导致功率增加5X。

此外,这些频率的波不会传播很远,并且会被建筑物和树木等物理障碍物大大衰减。 这种有限的传播要求网络运营商(如AT&T和Verizon)更加密集地安装更多天线。 这笔巨额资本支出无疑将需要时间。 因此,工作在较高频率的手机最肯定需要增加发射功率以克服衰减。 再一次, 电池受苦。

当然,可以肯定的是,随着时间的流逝,5G网络中的电源利用率将有所提高,制造商的效率将得到提高。 但是,5G的电源要求和对电池的影响极不可能与4G / LTE相似。 对电池的需求肯定会增加,并对电池的性能和安全性施加更多的限制。

18Apr 2018

5G is the evolution of the present LTE wireless network that carriers are beginning to deploy later this year. 

Yes, it will be a Global network, with every geography around the globe utilizing it at some point in the future. 

Yes, it will have Great capabilities, from streaming videos with very little if any delay, and seamlessly handle a large number of connected devices such as sensors.

Yes, it will Galvanize a new set of applications that may have not even been conceived of yet. Just imagine what the previous generations did to promote social networks, video, and other such uses that were not possible a decade ago.

Yes, it will have Grave consequences on the battery. The demands that the network places on the devices, in particular, the handset or smartphone, are significant. Early results show that the power consumption in the chipsets that run smartphones are higher by as much as 25 to 50%.

Yes, the effort will be Grueling to improve the battery’s performance and safety.

Much has been written about 5G and its planned deployment. Unfortunately, the coverage tends to be centered on the benefits of 5G and neglects the impact on the battery. If anything, it can be misleading in promising a longer battery life, contrary to the present data.

The figure below (courtesy of Verizon Wireless) highlights three main thrusts of 5G. At the low frequency bands, typically between 600 MHz and 900 MHz, 5G will continue to provide mobile broadband, similar to 4G / LTE connectivity on your smartphone or handset device. At these frequencies, the network will be limited by physics to maximum data bandwidths on the order of a few hundred Mbits per second.

 

 

5G introduces a new set of frequency bands that will go as high as 6 GHz where data rates can reach one or more Gbits per second. These higher data rates will provide new services that have much faster connectivity, or as Verizon Wireless calls it, enhanced Mobile Broadband.

The last frequency tranche is above 24 GHz where data rates can now reach 10 Gbits per second or higher.

There are three key observations to make here in relation to the battery. 

First, there will be a substantial increase in the amount of data traffic with 5G. Each bit of data consumes a small amount of battery charge. While electronics are getting incrementally more efficient in power usage, this efficiency is no match to the massive increase in data traffic, anticipated to be 1,000X higher than present-day volumes. This, unquestionably, will be the first strain on the battery requirements necessitating higher battery capacities and energy densities.

The second observation is more subtle but potentially more potent. The 5G networks provide new applications that are time and mission critical with a very low latency. In other words, the time that it takes the data to make a round trip from one device to another, and back to the original device (what engineers call latency) will decrease from a present-day value near 100 ms (milliseconds) to less than 10 ms. 

Who cares, you might ask! Imagine two autonomous vehicles on the highway traveling at 65 mph (105 km/h). In 10 ms, the vehicle would have traveled nearly one foot (about 30 cm). In 100 ms, the distance is ten feet or nearly three meters. This is the difference between avoiding a collision or a potentially tragic accident. 

But low latency means that the apps processor (or CPU) will be getting far less idle time that it does today. You see, battery-operated devices rely on the electronics being asleep (not drawing power) for a good portion of the time in order to save battery. So when the processor needs to be awake a longer duration of time, it will have a substantial impact on power consumption, and consequently the battery. 

The third and last observation relates to the new higher frequency bands at 3 – 6 GHz and greater than 24 GHz. Physics tell us that power consumption increases linearly with frequency. So just by going from the 900 MHz band to the 6 GHz band will incur up to 5X increase in power. 

Additionally, waves at these frequencies do not travel very far and tend to be greatly attenuated by physical obstacles like buildings and trees. This limited propagation requires that network carriers (like AT&T and Verizon) install far more antennas more densely. This large capital outlay will most certainly take time. Consequently, handsets operating at higher frequencies will most certainly need to increase the transmission power to overcome the attenuation. Once again, the battery suffers.

Of course, it is fair to expect that the power utilization in 5G networks will improve over time and manufacturers will derive improvements in efficiency. However, it is highly unlikely that 5G power requirements and impact on battery will be similar to those of 4G/LTE. The demands on the battery are certain to increase and put more constraints on battery performance and safety.