172018年XNUMX月

我搜索了一个问题“我应该将手机充电到100”。 谷歌返回了467万的结果。 从人们提出“如何正确收费”的意见到其他人呼吁“科学”,媒体似乎没有明显的共识。 然而, 与更具社交性的主题观点不同,这个问题应该更加简单,应该有明确的答案。 让我们来探索吧。

我从一个简单的实验开始。 拿两个电池。 将其中一个连续充电至100%并将其放电至零。 重复。 取出第二块电池并仅将其充电至90%。 放电吧。 重复。 现在比较两个电池。 有差异吗? 答案是肯定的,有区别。 充电至100%的电池将老化得更快。

衰老是什么意思? 技术术语是“循环寿命“在实践中,这意味着充电至100%的电池将失去比其他电池更快地存储电荷的能力。 两个电池之间的差异可能在100和300充电周期之间变化。

这样好吗? 嗯,这取决于你的用途。 “好”的定义是相对的。

对于智能手机,我的回答是“我真的不在乎。”

对于电动汽车,我的回答是“是的,它更好,但可能只是轻微的。”

对于电力公司使用的储能电池,我的回答是“是的,绝对的”。

现在,让我们深入了解细节。

智能手机电池的寿命通常为500至800周期。 按循环,我的意思是你能够充电它(到100%)并在它变老和无用之前放电的次数。 一些智能手机制造商的表现要好于其 Apple和三星的电池往往更接近500周期。 LG,索尼和华为等其他公司往往更接近800周期。

让我们将周期转换为现实生活年。 大多数智能手机每天收费一次。 因此,在电池老化之前,800周期约为2年。 这与消费者升级的平均时间相符。 但是等等,你可能会说你计划将智能手机保存的时间超过2年。 你该怎么办?

当然,一个选项是在电池电量耗尽后花费30到$ 50,并在2年后为您的手机提供服务。 另一种选择是仅将手机充电至80%或90%而不是100%。 这项练习可能会让你额外使用一年。

但这不是延长寿命的唯一方法。 您可能不知道如果使用小型AC适配器而不是更大的AC适配器,您可能会获得相同的好处。 对于此方法,请查找额定5瓦的AC适配器,或使用PC中的USB端口为手机充电。 这适用于iPhone或Android手机。 你放弃了什么? 你放弃了快速充电。 如果你一夜之间给手机充电,那你真的不在乎。

Qnovo的自助式插头:具有智能充电算法的智能手机将为您解决长寿问题,因此您真的不必考虑这个问题及其答案。

现在,我们来谈谈电动汽车。 你应该为电动汽车(EV)的电池充电吗? 首先,重要的是要知道EV制造商(从通用汽车和特斯拉到日产和大众)已经将汽车电池的充电限制在80%附近。 您在仪表板中读取的100%实际上是电池额定值的80%。 该数字通常足以满足车辆的保修条款,通常为100,000里程或10年。

如果你租车,那你真的不在乎。 您的租约将在任何有意义的电池老化出现之前很久就会过期。但是如果您购买了电动汽车并计划保留很长时间,那么您可能会有动力不再充电。

但是等等,这也不是获得更长寿的唯一方法。 每次使用增压器或直流快速充电时,都会对电池造成严重损坏。 因此,请尽量避免使用增压器。 对于某些特斯拉型号中使用的松下电池来说,这一点尤其严重。

最后,我将补充几个关于他们使用的电力设施和电池的最后一句话。 这些是复杂的系统,预计至少运行20年! 它们也是非常昂贵的资产,耗资数百万美元。 所以长寿是一个严重的问题。 当然,用户对这些电池的充电方式没有发言权。 公用事业和电池制造商会监视这些电池,以便它们能够持续很长时间。

17May 2018

I googled the question “ should I charge my phone to 100”. Google returned 467 million results. From folks offering opinions on “how to properly charge” to others calling on “science”, there seems no obvious consensus in the media. Yet,  unlike views on more socially charged topics, this question ought to be a lot simpler and ought to have a clear cut answer. Let’s explore.

I start with an easy experiment. Take two batteries. Charge one of them continuously to 100% and discharge it back to zero. Repeat. Take the second battery and charge it only to 90%. Discharge it. Repeat. Now compare the two batteries.  Are there differences? the answer is yes, there is difference. The battery that was charged to 100% will age considerably faster. 

What do I mean by aging? The technical term is “cycle life.” In practice, it means that the battery charged to 100% will lose its ability to store electric charge faster than the other battery. The difference between the two batteries can vary between 100 and 300 charge cycles.

So is that good? Well, it depends on what your use is. The definition of “good” is relative.

For a smartphone, my answer is “I really don’t care.” 

For an electric vehicle, my answer is “yes, it is better, but may be only marginally.”

For energy storage batteries used by electric utilities, my answer is “yes, absolutely.”

Now, let’s dive into the details.

A smartphone battery usually lives about 500 to 800 cycles. By cycles, I mean the number of times you will be able to charge it (to 100%) and discharge it before it becomes old and useless. Some smartphone manufacturers do better than others. Apple’s and Samsung’s batteries tend to be closer to 500 cycles. Others like LG, Sony and Huawei tend to be closer to 800 cycles. 

Let’s convert cycles to real-life years. Most smartphones are charged once a day. So 800 cycles is about 2 years of use before your battery becomes old. That corresponds well with the average time for consumers to upgrade. But wait, you might say you plan to keep your smartphone for longer than 2 years. What should you do?

Naturally, one option is to spend $30 to $50 once your battery is depleted and get your phone serviced after 2 years. The other option is to charge your phone to only 80% or 90% instead of 100%. That exercise will probably get you an extra year of usage.

But that is not the only way to get more longevity. You probably don’t know that if you use a small AC adapter instead of a bigger one, you will probably get the same benefit. For this method, look for an AC adapter that is rated 5 Watts, or use the USB port in your PC to charge you handset. And that applies to iPhones or Android phones. What do you give up? You are giving up fast charging. If you charge your handset overnight, then you really don’t care.

A self-serving plug for Qnovo: Smartphones with intelligent charging algorithms will take care of longevity issues for you so you really don’t have to think about this question and its answer. 

Now, let’s talk about electric vehicles. Should you top off the battery in your electric vehicle (EV)? First, it is important to know that EV manufacturers (from GM and Tesla to Nissan and VW) already limit the charging of the car battery to somewhere near 80%. The 100% that you read in your dashboard is actually 80% of the what the battery is rated for. That figure usually is sufficient to meet the warranty terms of the vehicle, often 100,000 miles or 10 years.

If you are leasing your car, then you really don’t care. Your lease will expire long before any meaningful battery aging sets in. But if you purchased your EV and plan to keep for a long time, then you may have an incentive to not top off your battery.

But wait, that is also not the only way to get more longevity. Every time you use a supercharger or DC fast-charging, you are causing serious damage to the battery. So instead, try to avoid using superchargers. This is particularly acute for the Panasonic batteries used in some of the Tesla models.

Lastly, I will add a few final words about electric utilities and batteries they use. These are complex systems that are slated to operate for at least 20 years! They are also very expensive assets that cost millions of dollars. So longevity is a serious matter. Naturally, users have no say in how these batteries get charged. Utilities and battery manufacturers do watch over these batteries so that they can last for a long time.