292017年XNUMX月

恭喜,您刚购买了新款特斯拉S型电动车(EV)。 您还提交了额外的$ 2,000来安装 一级2 充电器在宽敞的车库的墙上。 一台2级充电器将在6 V下提供240千瓦的功率,可在一夜之间为您的大型汽车电池充电。 更好的是,您甚至考虑投资额外的$ 20,000在您的屋顶上安装太阳能电池板,过着零碳生活。 你现在可能会畏缩并思考:“哇,这是为富人而不是我。

因此,让我们考虑一个更具社会责任感的情景。 你租了一辆更实惠的雪佛兰螺栓,承诺给你200 +英里的电动驾驶。 你没有车库。 也许你住在一个大城市,所以你的车可能停在街上。 你在挠头:“我如何为汽车电池充电?“你可能很幸运,白天在工作时为你的车充电,而不是在家里过夜。 但周末怎么样? 没有快速简单的答案。

由于采用电动汽车 变得更加普遍 特别是在拥挤的城市地区,有关充电基础设施的问题变得突出。 特斯拉领导他们的部署 增压器网络 在全球范围内安装了1,000充电站,特别是在主要交通走廊和高速公路附近。 但特斯拉快速充电网络与其他电动汽车不兼容。 想象一下,你只能在一个品牌的加油站给你现有的汽车加油,比如在壳牌,但不是埃克森。 没实用!

如果电动汽车成为汽油(或柴油)动力汽车的真正替代品,那么在未来十年内,所有电动汽车都可以公开使用充电基础设施。 充电的基本要求是快速充电的可用性,更具体地说,充电可以在大约10分钟内提供至少半罐(或罐的3/4)。

我们来做一些简单的数学运算。 具有200英里范围的电动车相当于大约60的电池尺寸 千瓦时。 半罐是30 kWh(或100英里)。 在30分钟内为10 kWh充电等于180 kW(或 3C有效率)。 当我们考虑效率低下时,充电站需要提供最低200 kW。 从正确的角度来看,这就是整个住宅区使用的电量! 这些充电器很大,价格昂贵,因此必须在数十辆(如果不是数百辆)之间共享。

但快速充电的基础设施只是问题的一半。 房间里的大象仍然是: 电池本身可以以如此快的速度充电而不会损坏吗?

除非我们在如何为电池充电方面增加更多智能,否则这些数据暂时不同。

下图显示了以相同的电池30%(或大约每三天一次)和50%的时间(每隔一天)快速充电相比电池充电的结果。

绿色曲线显示电池如何通过慢速充电保持充电状态。 在700充电周期(或大约130,000英里的行驶里程)后,它仍然保留其原始充电的90%。 换句话说,您仍然可以在180里程的驾驶范围内驾驶200里程。 那很好!

蓝色曲线显示如果您收取30%的时间会发生什么。 80充电循环后,容量保持率降至600%。 这是一种快速退化。 在100,000里程之后,您的行驶里程现在是160里程。 一些电动车买家可能会接受,但几乎没有。 您的汽车的转售价值已大幅低于平均值。

红色曲线意味着重大麻烦。 如果您每隔一天快速为电动车充电,则仅在75周期后,您的电池容量将降至原始电量的300%。 这意味着在行驶约200英里后,您的行驶里程从150英里降至50,000英里。 该图未显示的是该电池快速发生故障,由于存在电池现已成为严重的安全隐患 锂金属电镀。 这是一个严重的问题!

因此,如果您拥有特斯拉等电动汽车,并且您很想频繁使用增压器网络,请考虑另一种充电解决方案!

29Nov 2017

Congratulations, you just purchased a new Tesla model S electric vehicle (EV). You also committed an extra $2,000 to install a level-2 charger on a wall in your spacious garage. A level-2 charger will deliver 6 kW of power at 240 V to charge your big car battery overnight. Better yet, you are even considering investing an additional $20,000 to install solar panels on your roof and live a life with zero carbon. You might be cringing by now and thinking: “Wow, this is for the rich, not me.

So let’s consider instead a more socially responsible scenario. You leased a much more affordable Chevy Bolt that promises to give you 200+ miles of electric driving. You don’t have a garage. Perhaps you live in a large city so your car may be parked on the street. You are scratching your head: “How will I charge my car battery?” You might be lucky to charge your car during the day at work instead of overnight at home. But what about the weekends? No quick and easy answer.

As the adoption of electric vehicles becomes more widespread especially in congested urban geographies, questions about the charging infrastructure become prominent. Tesla leads in the deployment of their Supercharger network with over 1,000 charging stations installed worldwide, especially near major transportation corridors and highways. But the Tesla fast charging network is not compatible with other electric vehicles. Imagine that you can refuel your present vehicle at only one brand of gas stations, say at Shell only but not Exxon. No practical!

The buildup over the coming decade of a charging infrastructure that is publicly available to all electric vehicles is a must if EVs are to become a real alternative to vehicles powered by gasoline (or diesel). A fundamental requirement for charging is the availability of fast charging, more specifically, charging that can provide at least half-a-tank (or ¾ of a tank) in about 10 minutes.

Let’s do some simple math. An electric vehicle with a 200-mile range equates to a battery size of approximately 60 kWh. Half-a-tank is 30 kWh (or 100 miles). Charging 30 kWh in 10 minutes equals to 180 kW (or 3C effective rate). By the time we factor inefficiencies, the charging station needs to deliver a minimum of 200 kW. To put that in perspective, that is the amount of power used by an entire residential block! These chargers are big, expensive and hence have to be shared among dozens if not hundreds of vehicles.

But the infrastructure for fast charging is only half the problem. The elephant in the room remains: Can the battery itself charge at such a fast rate without being damaged?

The data suggest otherwise for the time being, unless we add a lot more intelligence to how we charge the battery.

The following chart shows the results of charging a battery at a slow rate compared to fast charging the same battery 30% of the time (or about once every three days) and 50% of the time (every other day).

The green curve shows how the battery retains its charge with slow charging. After 700 charge cycles (or about 130,000 miles of driving), it still retains 90% of its original charge. In other words, you can still drive 180 miles in what used to be a driving range of 200 miles. That is good!

The blue curve shows what happens if you charge 30% of the time. The capacity retention drops to 80% after 600 charge cycles. That is a rapid degradation. After 100,000 miles, your driving range is now 160 miles. It might be acceptable to some EV buyers but just barely. The resale value of your car has depreciated substantially below the average value.

The red curve spells major trouble. If you fast charge your electric vehicle every other day, your battery capacity drops to 75% of its original charge after only 300 cycles. That means that your driving range drops from 200 miles to 150 miles after about 50,000 miles of driving. What this graph does not show is that this battery is failing rapidly and has now become a serious safety hazard because of the presence of lithium metal plating. This is a serious problem!

So, if you own an electric vehicle such as a Tesla, and you are tempted to use the Supercharger network frequently, consider an alternative charging solution !!