312017年XNUMX月

我们这个星球上的所有人每年都会购买1.6十亿部智能手机。 每年,这个星球上每四个活着的人就可以使用一部新的智能手机。 累积起来,我们在全球拥有并使用4亿智能手机。 世界上每个地区,无论贫富,都在购买智能手机。 中东,非洲和亚洲的许多发展中国家正在快速增长其智能手机订阅量。 爱立信报告称,2021将会有超过十亿的智能手机订阅,几乎每个男人,女人和孩子都在世界各地。 令人印象深刻!

当然,这些智能手机中的每一个都有一个电池。 你的第一反应是:“这是很多电池。”是的,这是真的。 可悲的是,许多这些电池在耗尽后会进入垃圾填埋场。 衡量电池市场规模的最简单方法是计算所有电池供应的全部能量。 当然,这是一个很大的数字。 它以数十亿瓦特小时计算,缩写为 亿千瓦时。 作为参考标记,特斯拉S线顶部的电池为100 kWh。 一个GWh = 1百万千瓦时= 10,000特斯拉S.

在2017 03-31-AM 9.48.15屏幕快照

在2016,全球的电池工厂为消费类设备制造了价值50 GWh的电池。 这推动了一个行业和每年价值超过10十亿美元的市场。 预测表明,消费者市场将在65中使用大约70至2020 GWh的电池。 我们对更多电池的兴趣是无法满足的,数字显示它。

现在让我们来看看电动汽车中的电池,包括混合动力插电式汽车和纯电动汽车(xEV)。 这是一个相对较新的市场。 特斯拉S首次进入2012。 日产Leaf在2011中提前了一点。 美国或世界各国的许多州尚未经历或试验过此类车辆。 在2016中,所有这些车辆仅占所有汽车销量的0.9%。 总的来说,它们在1中的数量不到2016米。

亿千瓦时

然而,在电池术语中,这些汽车占GWh的数量越来越多。 2016年是xEV中使用的电池容量与所有消费类设备相比的第一年,约为50 GWh。 通过2020,xEV将占全球所有电池产量的1/3。 难怪Elon Musk和主要的汽车制造商非常关注他们的供应链,包括建造这些Gigafactories。

31Mar 2017

We, that’s all of us on this planet, buy every year 1.6 billion smartphones. It works out to one new smartphone every year for every four living human beings on this planet. Cumulatively, we own and use 4 billion smartphones around the world. Every region of the world, rich or poor, is buying smartphones. Many developing nations in the Middle East, Africa, and Asia are growing their smartphone subscriptions at a fast rate. Ericsson reports that by 2021, there will be 6.3 billion smartphone subscriptions, that’s nearly every man, woman and child around the world. Impressive!

Of course, each and every one of these smartphones has a battery in it. Your first reaction is: “that’s a lot of batteries.” Yes, that is true. Sadly, many of these batteries go to landfills after they are exhausted. The easiest way to gauge the size of the market for batteries is to calculate the entire energy supplied by all of them. Of course, that is a large number. It is measured in billions of watt-hours, abbreviated as GWh. As a reference mark, the battery in a top of the line Tesla S is 100 kWh. One GWh = 1 million kWh = 10,000 Tesla S.

 

Screen Shot 2017-03-31 at 9.48.15 AM

 

In 2016, the battery factories around the world manufactured about 50 GWh worth of batteries for consumer devices. That drives an industry and a market worth in excess of $10 billions annually. Forecasts indicate that the consumer market will use about 65 to 70 GWh worth of batteries in 2020. Our appetite for more batteries is insatiable and the numbers show it.

Now let’s look at batteries in electrified vehicles, including both hybrid plug-in cars and pure electric cars (xEVs). This is a relatively new market. The Tesla S first came in 2012. The Nissan Leaf came a little earlier in 2011. Many states in the US or countries around the world haven’t yet experienced or experimented with such vehicles. In 2016, all of these vehicles accounted for a mere 0.9% of all car sales. In total, they amounted to less than 1 m vehicles in 2016.

 

GWh

 

However, in battery lingo, these cars accounted for an increasingly large number of GWh. The year 2016 was the first year that the battery capacity used in xEVs equalled that of all consumer devices, about 50 GWh. By 2020, xEVs will account for ⅔ of all battery production in the world. No wonder Elon Musk and the major car makers pay a lot of attention to their supply chain, including building these Gigafactories.