092020年XNUMX月

电动汽车(EV)是否需要800 V电池组才能进行超快充电? 是真的吗 保时捷Taycan 使用 800 V电池组,可实现超快充电? 为何 通用宣布 它的新电池平台将支持800 V? 让我们找出答案。

让我们从超快充电所需的两种基本成分开始:

1.能够提供大量电力的充电站;

2.电池接受额外充电功率而不会损坏或退化的能力。

充电站就像交流适配器一样,我们用于为智能手机充电。 当然,它们提供了更多的功能。 Tesla网络中的标准快速充电站额定功率为72 kW; 升级后的电站能够提供高达150 kW的功率。 Electrify America的网络正在增加可充电至 350 kW —足以运行约50个普通住宅。

车辆充电时,其车载计算机与充电站通信。 本质上,车辆会告诉车站,除其他外,它需要给电池充电多少电量。 它是车辆 不是 只要充电功率低于充电站可用的最大功率,充电站就可以设置充电功率,进而设置充电时间。 原因是车辆必须平衡充电功率 vs。 充电过程中电池退化的可能性。

当我们谈到电动汽车的电池时,通常指的是“电池组”。 电池组由数百甚至数千个单独的较小的电池单元组成,这些电池单元组装在一起以增加存储的电能量。 单个电池可以存储从17 Wh(例如,特斯拉中使用的Panasonic 21700电池)到300 Wh(例如,某些德国制造的EV中使用的电池)的任何位置。

标准50千瓦时 装在基本的Tesla Model 3中 总共包括2,976个单元,分为96个模块,每个模块由31个单独的单元组成。 相比之下,BMW i3电池组的总容量为43 kWh,使用96个模块,每个模块由两个电池组成。 BMW电池组中的电池要比特斯拉使用的电池大得多。

因此,我们注意到包装设计中经常出现数字“ 96”。 那是因为有96个模块电连接系列化”:换句话说,电池组的电气接线应使整个电池组的电压等于每个单个电池或模块的电压之和。 对于汽车中使用的绝大多数锂离子电池,模块电压平均为3.7 V,但范围可能从电池耗尽时的3.1 V到电池充满电时的4.2V。

现在我们可以计算出电池组的最大电压:96乘以4.2 V 等于 403V。名义上,这是市场上绝大多数EV的电池组电压,包括所有 特斯拉 模型, 雪佛兰博尔特, 日产Leaf, 宝马i3等等。

现在,让我们计算400V电池组在超快充电站将要求的最大充电电流。 保时捷表示,其Taycan专用车可承受高达270 kW的功率 涡轮增压站,因此我们将使用此图。

您可能从基本物理学中回想过,功率等于电压乘以电流。 因此,充电电流是功率(270 kW)除以电压(403 V) 等于 第670章 从任何标准来看,这都是非常大的电流,需要厚的铜线束,从而增加了重量和成本。 保时捷表示,额外的安全带重量达到66磅(30公斤),与背包的总重量1,389磅相比,要高出很多。

那么,如果我们将电压从800 V提高到400 V,该怎么办? 您猜对了:充电电流降低了一半,从而节省了重量和成本。

这正是保时捷Taycan电池设计所要做的。 它的包装内总共包含396种由LG Chem制造的电池,机械地排列成33个模块,每个模块12个电池。 在电气上,将396个电池分为两组 并联。 每组中连接了198个电池 系列化。 电池组的最大电压为835 V(198乘以4.2 V)。 每个LG Chem电池的额定功率为64.6 Ah,相当于236 Wh的能量容量当添加所有396电池的能量时,我们计算出的总电池组最大能量容量为93.4 kWh,仅比最大电池组能量容量小一点特斯拉Model S(100 kWh)。

那么未来的EV电池将是400V还是800V? 你决定!

09Mar 2020

Is it true that electric vehicles (EV) need 800-V battery packs for ultrafast charging? Is it true that the Porsche Taycan uses 800-V packs to enable ultrafast charging? Why did GM announce that its new battery platform will support 800 V? Let’s find out.

Let’s start with two essential ingredients required for ultrafast charging:

1. A charging station that is capable of providing a lot of electric power;

2. The ability for the battery to accept the extra charging power without being damaged or degraded.

Charging stations are like AC adapters we use to charge our smartphones. Of course, they provide a lot more power. Standard fast-charging stations in the Tesla network are rated to provide 72 kW; upgraded stations are capable of providing up to 150 kW. Electrify America’s network is adding stations that can charge at up to 350 kW — that’s sufficient to run about 50 average residential homes. 

When the vehicle is charging, its on-board computer communicates with the charging station. In essence, the vehicle tells the station, among other things, how much power it needs to charge the battery. It is the vehicle, not the charging station, that sets the charging power, and consequently the charging time — as long as the charging power is lower than the maximum power available at the charging station. The reason is that the vehicle must balance the charging power vs. the likelihood of battery degradation during charging.

When we speak of battery in an EV, we usually refer to a “pack.” A battery pack is made of hundreds or even thousands of individual smaller battery cells that are assembled together to increase the amount of stored electrical energy. A single battery cell may store anywhere from 17 W.h (e.g., Panasonic 21700 cell used in a Tesla) up to 300 W.h (e.g., cells used in some of the German-made EVs). 

The standard 50-kWh pack in the base Tesla Model 3 includes a total of 2,976 cells, organized into 96 modules, each module consisting of 31 individual cells.  A BMW i3 pack, by contrast, has a total capacity of 43 kWh and uses 96 modules, each module consisting of two cells. The cells in the BMW packs are substantially larger than the ones used by Tesla.

So we notice that the number “96” appears regularly in the pack design. That’s because there are 96 modules electrically connected “in series”: in other words, the electrical wiring of the pack is such that the voltage of the entire pack is the sum of the voltages of each individual cell or module. For the vast majority of lithium-ion cells used in automotive, the module voltage is on average 3.7 V, but can range from 3.1 V when the cell is depleted to  4.2 V when the cell is fully charged. 

We can now calculate the maximum voltage of the pack: 96 multiplied by 4.2 V equals 403 V. This is nominally the pack voltage for the vast majority of EVs on the market including all Tesla models, Chevy Bolt, Nissan Leaf, BMW i3, and many others.

Let’s now calculate the maximum charging current that a 400-V battery pack will request at an ultrafast-charging station. Porsche says that its Taycan can accept up to 270 kW at its dedicated Turbo Charging stations, so we will use this figure.

You may recall from basic physics that power equals voltage multiplied by current. Therefore, the charging current is power (270 kW) divided by voltage (403 V) equals 670 A !!! By any standard, this is a very large current that will require a thick copper cable harness, adding significant weight and cost. Porsche says the extra harness weight amounts to 66 pounds (30 kg) — quite a bit when compared to the pack’s overall weight of 1,389 pounds.

So what if we raise the voltage to 800 V, up from 400 V? You guessed correctly: the charging current drops by half…thus saving significant weight and cost.

That is exactly what the Porsche Taycan’s battery design does. Its packs contains a total of 396 individual cells made by LG Chem, mechanically arranged into 33 modules of 12 cells each. Electrically, the 396 cells are divided into two sets connected in parallel. In each set, there are 198 cells connected in series. The maximum voltage of the pack is 835 V (that’s 198 multiplied by 4.2 V).  Each LG Chem cell is rated at 64.6 A.h, equivalent to an energy capacity of 236 W.h. When the energy from all 396 cells is added, we calculate a total pack maximum energy capacity of 93.4 kWh — just a little less than the maximum pack energy capacity of the Tesla Model S (100 kWh).

So will it be 400-V or 800-V for future EV packs? You decide!