092019年XNUMX月

当我读到John Goodenough,Stanley Wittingham和Akira Yoshino因“开发锂离子电池”而获得2019诺贝尔化学奖时,我感到非常高兴。

Wittingham最初在电池方面的工作可以追溯到1970 在埃克森美孚期间。 Goodenough在牛津大学关于LCO阴极的开创性工作是 出版 在1980中。 吉野对石墨阳极的贡献来自日本旭化成的1980。 索尼将他们的想法转化为1991中的第一个商用锂离子电池产品。

礼貌:瑞典皇家科学院

因此,现在正是这些科学家因其贡献和发起储能革命而获得认可的时候了。 该奖项是对过去几十年来为使锂离子电池在我们的生活中无处不在而勤奋工作的数千名科学家和工程师所做的贡献的启示。 试想一下,没有锂离子电池的现代数字生活,iPhone或Tesla车辆。 你根本做不到!

凭借今天的诺贝尔奖,锂离子电池加入了晶体管或聚合酶链反应(PCR)等伟大发明的行列。 1951中硅晶体管的发明成为催生现代硅谷的催化剂。 Kari Mullis在1983中对PCR技术的发现推动了生物化学和药物发现领域的广阔发展。

自从索尼制造出第一款锂离子电池以来,已经过去了近30年。 在这三十年中,锂离子电池已从为早期型号的便携式摄录机供电到转变运输方式。 尽管如此,该行业仍处于起步阶段,尚需克服许多挑战,并有许多发现需要进行。

随着电动汽车在未来几年的加速使用,锂离子电池在我们的经济中起着举足轻重的作用,其作用不亚于20世纪初期的内燃机。 电池性能,安全性,制造,成本,与复杂电子系统集成的挑战都必须解决……挑战也意味着创新的机会,以及科学家和工程师做出持久贡献的机会。

在这个时代,“技术”(尤其是在旧金山湾区)的含义已成为创建新小工具或新商业模式的代名词,我们不应忽视 科学 仍然是动力的引擎 示意图.

09Oct 2019

I was beaming with delight when I read that John Goodenough, Stanley Wittingham and Akira Yoshino received the 2019 Nobel Prize in Chemistry for the “development of lithium-ion batteries.”

Wittingham’s initial work on batteries dates back to the 1970s while at Exxon. Goodenough’s seminal work on LCO cathodes at Oxford was published in 1980. Yoshino’s contributions on the graphite anode came in 1980s at Asahi Kasei in Japan. Sony converted their ideas into the first commercial lithium-ion battery product in 1991.

courtesy: The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences

So it is about time that these scientists are recognized for their contributions and for initiating a revolution in energy storage. The award shines the light on the contributions of thousands of scientists and engineers who have diligently worked in the past decades to make lithium-ion batteries ubiquitous in our lives. Just imagine your modern digital life, your iPhone, or your Tesla vehicle, without a lithium-ion battery. You simply can’t!

With today’s Nobel award, lithium-ion batteries join the ranks of great inventions such as the transistor or polymerase chain reaction (PCR). The invention of the silicon transistor in 1951 became the catalyst that led to modern-day Silicon Valley. Kari Mullis’ discovery of PCR technique in 1983 set in motion a vast industry in biochemistry and drug discovery.

Nearly 30 years have passed since Sony manufactured the first lithium-ion battery. Over these three decades, the lithium-ion battery went from powering early models of consumer camcorders to transforming transportation. Nonetheless, the industry remains in its early days with many more challenges to overcome and discoveries to be made. 

As the adoption of electric vehicles accelerates in the coming years, the lithium-ion battery takes a fundamental role in our economy no less than that assumed by the combustion engine in the early part of the 20th century. Challenges in battery performance, safety, manufacturing, cost, integration with complex electronic systems, all must be resolved….challenges also mean opportunities for innovation, and opportunities for scientists and engineers to make lasting contributions.

In an era where the meaning of “tech,” especially here in the San Francisco Bay Area, has become synonymous with the creation of new gadgets or new business models, we should not lose sight that science remains the engine that powers technology.