192019年XNUMX月

在2013八月的某个时候,黑客突破了 雅虎 服务器和窃取私人帐户信息,最多可达3十亿用户。 Verizon Communications以其收购价格获得了350百万美元的折扣 雅虎 在2017中,举例说明了一次网络风险遭遇的惊人成本。

风险和风险管理的概念并不新鲜。 在1688中,爱德华·劳埃德(Edward Lloyd)设立了今天的伦敦劳埃德(Lloyd's of London),以遏制新的和不断增长的海洋跨大西洋贸易的新风险。 从那时起,商业界一直在努力遏制从食品到互联网等各种风险。

实际上,几乎所有事情。 仍未充分解决的一个现代风险是电池安全性,特别是无处不在的锂离子电池的安全性。 公平地说,业界很久以前就已经认识到锂离子电池的安全隐患。 2000早期的电池火灾导致昂贵的召回事件。 但他们在很大程度上被视为一次性事件。 这些是每年电池数量达数亿的时候。 这些火灾并未被视为持续存在的风险。 他们被视为制造业的失败,可以通过改进工厂或设计来消除。

今天的电池出货量已飙升至数十亿单位并且还在增加。 即使电池点火的几率微不足道,当乘以大量电池时也会成为一个真正的问题。 电池故障是一种需要控制的持续风险。

估计电池火灾的风险在几百万分之几(或ppm)的范围内。 一个ppm意味着每运送一百万个单位,就有可能其中一个会着火。 这并不意味着一个*会着火。 从统计上讲,这只意味着发生火灾的可能性是百万分之一。 现在这似乎是一个小数字。 你可能会说出一种珍贵的爱,他们是“百万分之一”。在一个每年运送20亿部智能手机的行业中,这意味着每年会发生数千次电池火灾! 不能接受的! 我们需要将这个数字降低100或1,000。

爱德华劳埃德的业务是可能的,因为它在17世纪早期由Blaise Pascal和Pierre de Fermat开创的概率数学进步中有其基础。 同样,它可以大大改善电池安全性,因为它利用了过去50年的计算进展。

每部智能手机都是奇迹装置。 它包含的处理器比将Apollo 11登陆月球的计算机强大得多。 它还包含精密的电子设备,可以测量微小的电压和电流,反过来,它可以很好地说明电池内部的化学反应。 将它与智能软件融为一体,我们现在可以预测未来电池的健康状况。

但为什么我们不能制造永不着火的完美电池呢? 简单地说,它非常昂贵。 考虑一下:几乎每个拥有智能手机的人都是业余摄影师。 尽管他们的相机镜头光学不足,但软件允许他们拍摄令人难以置信的照片。

电池也是如此。 大批量制造电池意味着一些电池会有缺陷。 在大规模电池制造方面,这只是质量和成本之间的平衡。 为了使事情更具挑战性,每个人都会以不可预测的方式使用或滥用电池。 捕获和屏蔽这些坏电池变得至关重要 在该领域 在他们成为危险之前。 当然,这并不意味着取代良好的制造规范,而是在我们寻求将电池火灾减少到零的过程中补充它们。

那么它是怎样工作的? 我过去谈过这件事 电化学阻抗谱 (EIS)。 它是世界各地电池实验室的主力测试仪器。 它能够测量电池内部发生的化学过程。 现在想象一下,如果你的设备中有这么类似的工具。 凭借一些专业知识,您现在可以开始就电池做出明智的决定。 这不是一个新概念; 例如,类似的概念允许葡萄糖测量装置挽救数百万糖尿病患者的生命。

现在是我们认真对待电池健康和安全的时候了。 让我们在升级之前解决这个风险。 设备功能和电池威胁之间的差距只会越来越大 - 让我们变得聪明并在潜在事件发生之前管理它们。

19Feb 2019

Some time in August of 2013, hackers breached Yahoo! servers and stole private account information for up to 3 billion users. Verizon Communications received a $350 million discount in the price of its acquisition of Yahoo! in 2017, exemplifying the staggering costs of one single encounter with cyber risk.

The concept of risk and risk management is not new. In 1688, Edward Lloyd set up what would become today Lloyd’s of London to contain the emerging risks of the new and growing maritime trans-Atlantic trade. Since then, the business world has worked diligently to contain such risk in everything from food to the Internet.

Actually, almost everything. One such modern risk that remains inadequately addressed is battery safety, specifically the safety of lithium-ion batteries that are so ubiquitous. To be fair, industry has recognized long time ago the safety hazards surrounding the lithium-ion battery. Battery fires in the early 2000s caused expensive recalls. But they were largely treated as one-off events. These were times when the annual volume of batteries was a few hundred millions. These fires were not treated as an on-going risk. They were seen as failures in manufacturing that could be eliminated by improvements in factories or designs.

Today’s battery shipments have skyrocketed to billions of units and counting. Even a minuscule chance of battery fire becomes a real problem when multiplied by the sheer volume of batteries. Battery failures are an ongoing risk that needs to be contained.

Estimates place the risk of battery fire in the range of a few to tens of parts-per-million (or ppm). One ppm means that for every one million units shipped, there is a risk that one of them will catch fire. It does not mean that one *will* catch fire. It just means that statistically speaking, the probability of a fire is one in a million. Now that seems like a small number. You might tell a precious love that they are “one in a million.” In an industry that ships two billion smartphones annually, that translates to several thousand battery fires annually! Not acceptable! We need to bring this figure down by a factor of 100 or 1,000.

Edward Lloyd’s business was possible because it had its underpinnings in the mathematical advances of probability pioneered by Blaise Pascal and Pierre de Fermat early in the 17th century. In that same vein it is possible to make great improvements in battery safety because it leverages the advances in computation of the past 50 years.

Every smartphone is a miracle device. It contains a processor that is infinitely more powerful than the computer that landed Apollo 11 on the moon. It also contains sophisticated electronics that can measure minute voltages and currents, and in turn it is very telling of the chemical reactions inside the battery. Merge it all with intelligent software, and we can now predict what the battery’s health will be in the future.

But why can’t we just manufacture the perfect battery that will never catch fire? Simply put, it is prohibitively expensive. Consider this: nearly every person with a smartphone is also an amateur photographer. Despite the fact their camera lens is optically deficient, software allows them to take incredible photographs.

The same goes for batteries. Manufacturing batteries in large volumes means that some will have defects. That’s just the balance between quality and cost when it comes to battery manufacturing in large scale. To make matters more challenging, every person will use or abuse their battery in unpredictable ways. It becomes essential to catch and screen these few bad batteries in the field before they become a hazard. Naturally, this is not meant to supersede good manufacturing practices, but rather to complement them in our quest to reduce battery fires to zero.

So how does it work? I talked in the past about electrochemical impedance spectroscopy (EIS). It is a workhorse test instrument in battery laboratories around the world. It is capable of measuring the chemical processes that are taking place inside the battery. Now imagine if you had such a similar tool inside your device. With some expertise, you can now start making smart decisions about your battery. This is not a new concept; a similar concept, for instance, allows glucose measuring devices to save the lives of millions of diabetics.

It’s high time we get serious about battery health and safety. Let’s address this risk before it escalates. The spread between device capabilities and battery threats is only growing — let’s get smart and manage potential incidents before they blow up into something bigger.