172019年XNUMX月

福特汽车公司能源存储高级经理Ted Miller最近表示: 没有固态技术,我们看不到另一种方法。“声明涉及更强大的电动汽车电池。 米勒先生继续澄清:“我现在无法预测的是谁将把它商业化

什么是固态电池?为什么商业化如此困难?

首先,让我们澄清一些误解。

被称为LiPo的聚合物电池是锂离子电池。

圆柱形电池,如18650电池(在早期的特斯拉型号中使用)也是锂离子电池。

棱柱形电池也是带有硬壳的锂离子电池。

固态电池也是如此。 它涉及更新的制造工艺,但它是锂离子电池。

所有这些锂离子电池的差异都有一个共同的物理原理:锂离子有助于储存电能。

简单地说,锂离子电池在锂离子之间来回移动 两个电气层:阳极和阴极。 当离子位于阴极时,电池放电。 当它们移动到阳极时,电池就会充电。 阴极和阳极称为电极。

这两个电极之间的离子的运动由称为的中间介质促进 电解质。 它是一种导电解决方案:它允许离子以很小的阻力穿过它。 一个关键属性被称为 电导率:它是离子通过电解质的容易程度的科学量度。 高电导率意味着离子可以轻松快速地传播。 低意味着相反。

在锂离子电池中,将两个电极浸入电解质溶液中。 今天的电池使用液体或凝胶状电解质。 电池制造商竭尽全力为其电池配制独特的电解质。 配方确实会影响许多电池的规格,特别是循环寿命(电池可以充电和放电的次数)。

在固态电池中,液体或凝胶电解质消失。 而是由夹在两个电极之间的“固态”层代替。 “固态”是指该层不是液体,而是物理固体。 该材料可以由陶瓷,玻璃或甚至塑料状聚合物,或这三种材料的某种混合物组成。

那么为什么要使用固体电解质? 有两个主要原因。 首先,具有固体电解质的电池比具有液体电解质的电池占用更少的空间。 这意味着可以在相同的体积中包装更多的能量。 所以, 能量密度 - 一个重要的电池指标 - 上升。

第二个原因是安全。 液体或凝胶电解质比固体电解质更容易着火。

传统上,固体电解质的主要挑战是导电性差,特别是在室温下(25°C或77°F)。 液体或凝胶电解质的导电率比固体电解质的导电率高约1,000倍。 换句话说,固体电解质对锂离子流动具有高得多的抗性。 这导致了若干性能挑战,从较差的循环寿命和无法以快速充电开始。

一些公司提出在高温(> 80°C)下操作固态电池以提高导电性。 但是在大多数使用场景下这是不实际的。

因此,对固体电解质材料的追求仍然是一个非常活跃的探索和发现领域。 对行业有信心会发现更好的材料,然而,我们真的无法预测什么时候会有广泛采用的突破。

另一个具有挑战性的方面是固体电解质的表面稳定性和可制造性。 与液体溶液不同,玻璃和陶瓷电解质不可变形。 它们必须使用高外部压力与两个电极组装,相当于约1,000气氛。 现有的电池制造工厂是否可以为此目的进行重组是值得怀疑的。 如果不是这样,固态电池的经济性无疑将受到影响,就像目前的情况一样。

简而言之,突破性的材料创新有很大的前景,使固态电池成为现实。 然而,仍然存在许多挑战。 我个人不希望在未来几年内看到商业规模的固态电池。 随着价格的持续下降,我们将继续看到传统锂离子电池的演进进展。

但在所有情况下,固态电池都遵循与传统锂离子电池相同的物理原理。 因此,为传统锂离子电池开发的许多电池管理解决方案将不断发展并继续应用。 这是个好消息。

17Jan 2019

Ted Miller, senior manager of energy storage at Ford Motor Co., recently stated:  We don’t see another way to get there without solid-state technology.” The statement is in regard to more powerful batteries for electric vehicles. Mr. Miller goes on clarifying: “What I can’t predict right now is who is going to commercialize it.”

So what is a solid state battery and why is it so difficult to commercialize? 

First, let’s clarify some misconceptions. 

A polymer battery, known as a LiPo, is a lithium-ion battery. 

A cylindrical battery, like an 18650 cell (used in the early Tesla models) is also a lithium-ion battery.

A prismatic battery is too a lithium-ion battery with a hard shell.

And so is a solid-state battery. It involves newer manufacturing processes, but it is a lithium-ion battery. 

All of these variances of lithium-ion batteries have one physical principle in common: the lithium ions contribute to storing the electrical energy.

Simplistically, a lithium-ion battery operates with lithium ions shuffling back and forth between two electrical layers: an anode and a cathode. When the ions are at the cathode, the battery is discharged. When they move to the anode, then the battery is charged. The cathode and anode are called electrodes.

The motion of the ions between these two electrodes is facilitated by an intermediate medium called electrolyte. It is a solution that is electrically conductive: it permits ions to travel through it with little impediment. One key property is called conductivity: it is a scientific measure of the ease at which ions can travel through the electrolyte. High conductivity means the ions can travel easily and quickly. Low means the opposite.

In a lithium-ion battery, the two electrodes are immersed in an electrolyte solution. Today’s batteries use a liquid or gel-like electrolyte. Battery manufacturers go to great lengths to formulate unique electrolytes for their batteries. The formulations do have an impact on many of the battery’s specifications, in particular cycle life (the number of times a battery can be charged and discharged). 

In a solid-state battery, the liquid or gel electrolyte disappears. It is instead replaced by a “solid-state” layer sandwiched between the two electrodes. “Solid-state” means this layer is not a liquid, but a physical solid. The material can consist of a ceramic, glass, or even a plastic-like polymer, or some type of mixture of all three.

So why use a solid electrolyte? There are two major reasons. First, a battery with solid electrolyte occupies a lot less space than one with liquid electrolyte. That means one can pack more energy in the same volume. Consequently, energy density — an important metric of batteries — goes up.

The second reason is safety. Liquid or gel electrolytes are more prone to catching fire than a solid electrolyte.

Traditionally, the primary challenge with solid electrolytes is poor conductivity especially at room temperature (25 °C or 77 °F). A liquid or gel electrolyte has a conductivity that is about 1,000 times better than that of solid electrolyte. In other words, solid electrolytes exhibit a far higher resistance to the flow of lithium ions. This results in several performance challenges, starting with poorer cycle life and inability to charge at fast rates. 

Some companies proposed operating their solid-state batteries at elevated temperatures (> 80 °C) to improve conductivity. But this is not practical under most use scenarios.

Therefore the quest for solid electrolyte materials continues to be a much active field of exploration and discovery. There is confidence in the industry better materials will be discovered, yet, we really can’t predict when a breakthrough will be widely adopted. 

Another challenging aspect is the surface stability and manufacturability of solid electrolytes.  Unlike liquid solutions, glass and ceramic electrolytes are not deformable. They must be assembled with the two electrodes using high external pressure, equivalent to about 1,000 atmospheres. It becomes questionable whether existing battery manufacturing factories can be retooled for this purpose. If not, the economics of solid-state batteries will undoubtedly suffer as is the present case.

In a nutshell, there is much promise in breakthrough material innovations to make solid-state batteries a reality. Yet, many challenges remain ahead. I personally do not expect to see solid-state batteries in commercial scale for several years to come. We will continue to see evolutionary progress with traditional lithium-ion batteries especially as prices continue to decline.

But in all cases, solid-state batteries are subject to the same physical principles that govern traditional lithium-ion batteries. Consequently, many of the battery management solutions developed for traditional lithium-ion batteries will evolve and continue to apply. And that is good news.