152019年XNUMX月

每个人都对5G感到兴奋。 并有充分的理由。 我们在4G LTE智能手机上所能做的所有伟大事情将在5G时代成倍增长。 我们将能够在眨眼间发送和接收大量文本和图像文件。 整部电影将在几秒钟内下载。 简而言之,5G将使我们的智能手机作为商业生产力工具和娱乐平台更加有用。 我不了解你,但我等不及了。

只有一件事。 没有电池供电,5G的出色体验是不可能的。

不幸的是,电池是智能手机时代的主要障碍。 爆炸和火灾虽然罕见,但却是一个严重的问题。 一次这样的事故太多了。

有点历史:在1991上进行商业化推广,锂离子电池比上一代技术(如镍镉和镍氢)有了巨大的进步,它们使4G LTE时代成为可能。 但在5G时代,锂离子电池有可能成为5G技术链中最薄弱的环节。

这场迫在眉睫的灾难并不是秘密。 我所说的智能手机制造商和网络运营商都在关注5G以及对手机的需求。 他们知道必须要做的事情。 但是什么?

研究人员正在日夜工作,提出突破性的电池技术,如固态电池或使用纳米材料的电池。 但电池突破通常需要十年或更长时间,投资数十亿美元。 在这些下一代电池准备大批量部署之前,还有许多工作要做。 实际上,我们需要接受5G将在配备锂离子电池的智能手机上曙光的事实。 唯一明智的做法是让这些电池像新时代一样准备就绪。

简而言之,问题在于:每个电池都有一个阴极和一个阳极,称为电解质。 在充电期间,离子通过电解质从阴极移动到阳极。 在锂离子电池中,在重复的充电循环中,在阳极上可能形成称为枝晶的微小树状生长物。 这些枝晶可以长得很大,最终会通过,触及阴极并导致电气短路,可能导致爆炸或火灾。 由电池施加压力的因素(例如快速充电或过度充电)会加速枝晶的形成。 这些应力造成的损害随着时间的推移而累积。

由于以下几个因素,5G将以前所未有的方式对电池施加压力:

  • 5G的高频段需要更多功率。 5G包含3 GHz至6 GHz及24 GHz以上的新频段。 功耗随频率线性增加,因此从900 MHz到6 GHz,会导致5x在其他条件相同的情况下增加功率需求。
  • 数据流量将大幅增加。 尽管5G效率很高,但吞吐率会更高,显示效果也会更高。 更多比特将以超过每秒1 Gbit的速率进行流式传输,需要额外的功率。
  • 5G应用程序需要低延迟,大约一毫秒。 例如,在较大屏幕上流式传输视频将大大减少处理器和电池的空闲时间。 这意味着更大的功耗。
  • 5G将需要在整个景观中更密集地放置天线,并且在运营商添加更多天线之前,手机和电池必须更加努力。

总的来说,网络运营商估计电力需求的25%增加到50%。

准备

但是,如果实施智能电池管理软件,则有希望。 第一步是减轻电池的压力; 第二是监控电池健康状况,以便在出现问题之前发现危险。 这些双重任务原则上很简单,但在实践中具有挑战性。

为了测量工作中的化学过程,可以利用为电池充电的电流作为一种信使。 通过应用类似于声纳的原理,可以从电流回波中检索关于电池内化学反应的信息。 基于该信息,可以调整反应以使它们更好地执行。 这些相同的信号还传递关于正在发展的任何问题的信息,例如产生电短路的树枝状结构。

通过减少电池压力和监控电池健康状况,将电池寿命延长一倍是合理的预期。 大多数手机电池的额定500充电周期,但可以增加到1000。 电池寿命并不是唯一可以改进的东西。 随着电池的充电和充电,它的尺寸会增大,体积增加可能达到10%。 智能电池管理可将肿胀减少一半。

简而言之,智能电池管理是所有智能手机必备的产品。 没有其他方法可以更好地确保电池的健康和安全。 当我们等待5G的到来时,当智能电池管理在这里时,没有必要绝望或对电池化学技术的缓慢进展感到不耐烦。

15Feb 2019

Everyone’s excited about 5G. And with good reason. All the great things we have been able to do on our smart phones with 4G LTE will multiply into bigger and better things in the 5G Era. We’ll be able to send and receive huge text and image files in the blink of an eye. Entire movies will download in seconds. In short, 5G will make our smart phones vastly more useful as business productivity tools and as entertainment platforms. I don’t know about you, but I can’t wait.

There’s just one thing. The excellent experiences of 5G can’t happen without battery power.

Unfortunately, batteries are a major stumbling block of the smart phone era. Explosions and fires, although rare, are a serious problem. One such mishap is too many.

A little history: Introduced commercially in 1991, lithium-ion batteries are a tremendous advance over previous-generation technology, such as nickel-cadmium and nickel-metal hydride, and they have made the 4G LTE era possible. But in the 5G era, lithium-ion batteries risk being exposed as the weakest link in the chain of 5G-enabling technologies.

This looming catastrophe is no secret. Smart phone manufacturers and network operators I speak with are concerned about 5G and the demands that will be placed on handsets. They know something must be done. But what?

Researchers are working night and day to come up with breakthrough battery technology, such as solid-state batteries or batteries using nano materials. But battery breakthroughs often take a decade or more, and billions of dollars in investments. Much more work needs to be done before these next-generation batteries are ready to be deployed in large volumes. Realistically, we need to accept the fact that 5G will dawn on smart phones equipped with lithium-ion batteries. The only sensible approach is to get those batteries as ready as they can be for the new era.

Briefly, here’s the issue: Every battery has a cathode and an anode, in a substance called the electrolyte. During charging, ions move from the cathode to the anode through the electrolyte. In lithium-ion batteries, tiny tree-like growths called dendrites may form on the anode over repeated charging cycles. These dendrites can grow so large that they eventually reach through, touching the cathode and causing an electrical short, possibly leading to an explosion or fire. Dendrite formation is accelerated by factors that stress the battery, such as rapid charging or overcharging. Damage caused by these stresses accumulates over time.

5G will put stress on batteries as never before, thanks to several factors:

  • The higher-frequency bands of 5G require more power. 5G encompasses new frequency bands of 3 GHz to 6 GHz and above 24 GHz. Power consumption increases linearly with frequency, so going from 900 MHz to 6 GHz, for example, incurs a 5x increase in power demand all else being equal.
  • Data traffic will increase substantially. Even though 5G is highly efficient, throughput rates will be higher and displays will be larger. More bits will be streaming at rates exceeding 1 Gbit per second, requiring additional power.
  • 5G apps will require low latency, about one millisecond. For example, streaming video on a larger screen will sharply reduce idle time for the processor and battery. That means greater power consumption.
  • 5G will require denser placement of antennas across the landscape, and until carriers add more antennas, handsets and their batteries will have to work harder.

In all, network operators estimate 25% to 50% increase in power demand.

Preparedness

There is hope, however, if intelligent battery management software is implemented. The first step is to reduce the stress on the battery; the second is to monitor battery health so that danger is spotted before problems occur. These twin tasks are simple in principle but challenging in practice.

To measure the chemical processes at work, it is possible to utilize the electrical current that charges the battery as a kind of messenger. By applying principles similar to sonar, it is possible to retrieve information from the electrical current’s echo about the chemical reactions within the battery. Based on that information, the reactions can be tuned to make them better performing. These same signals also relay information as to any problems that are developing, such as the dendritic formations that produce electrical shorts.

By lessening battery stress and monitoring battery health, doubling battery longevity is a reasonable expectation. Most phone batteries are rated at 500 charging cycles, but that can be increased to 1000. And battery life isn’t the only thing that can be improved. As a battery charges and recharges, it enlarges in size, gaining perhaps 10 percent in volume. Intelligent battery management can cut that swelling in half.

Simply put, intelligent battery management is a must-have for all smart phones. Nothing else does a better job ensuring battery health and safety. As we await the arrival of 5G, there is no need to despair or to become impatient with the slow progress of battery chemistry technology, when intelligent battery management is here today.