212017年XNUMX月

这是新智能手机发布的季节。 三星S8在这里,鼓声大大超过了人们所期待的Apple iPhone 8(或Edition,或他们称之为的)。

这些设备及其制造商显然宣称其性能特征:更快的处理器,更好的摄像头,漂亮的显示器,更多的内存……等等。 但是对于今年甚至未来很多年,#1功能是外观和感觉,也称为工业设计,或者只是纯ID。

工业设计包括设备在手中的感觉以及消除或至少减少边框以使显示器伸到边缘。 它还包括厚度和轮廓,通常是某种手感舒适的圆形设计。 消费者看不见这些美学特征在电池上造成的破坏。 例如,薄型智能手机意味着电池更薄。 我的意思是非常薄(小于3毫米)。 圆形轮廓可能意味着非平面电池,以最大化智能手机内部的空间利用率。 这些电池难做且昂贵吗? 绝对。 鉴于电池消耗了智能手机内部总空间的1/2至1/3,因此就电池而言,推动工业设计意味着严肃的业务。 今天的帖子显示了您将智能手机作为消费者的选择如何影响电池及其底层设计。

首先,最重要的是,每个消费者都希望他或她的智能手机至少使用一整天。 现在,“一整天”的定义是主观的,但是已经有广泛的共识,即它可以转化为至少3,000 mAh的电池容量,对于顶级智能手机来说,最好接近3,500 mAh。 确实,如果我们检查过去5年中智能手机的平均容量,我们发现它的年增长率约为8%。 2017智能手机中的电池包含大约40 –比50多出了2012%的容量(mAh)。

容量

智能手机也越来越薄,因此电池的可用空间更少。 下图显示了过去几年中iPhone(橙色)和Samsung Galaxy系列(蓝色)的厚度。 趋势很明显!

容量正在增加。 数量正在减少。 体积较小时,能量更多。 换一种说法, 能量密度 由于对安全性,质量以及成本的各种影响,它正迅速崛起,因此引起了严重的头痛。

如果您是电池供应商并且需要提高能量密度,该怎么办? 首先,您可以在电池内部装入更多材料,以存储更多的锂离子。 其次,可以增加电压。 如果您还记得高中物理的话,那么电能就是电荷×电压的乘积。 电压越高,能量越多。 如果我们查看过去几年中已投入商业销售的电池的最大电压,我们会立即注意到,单个电池的电压已从4.20 V升至4.40V。 今天,我们甚至可以在4.45 V及更高版本上看到原型。 下表显示了从4.20 V到4.40 V可以提供额外的20%能量,或者相当于四代电池。

伏

挑战在于,在这些升高的电池电压下,存在以下风险: 镀锂。 经营于 4.40 V 远非显而易见或琐碎。 在这些电压电平下,误差幅度非常小。 制造缺陷 或设计波动足以引起锂金属镀层的形成,从而有可能引起电池着火。

因此,当您选择下一个智能手机(三星,苹果或其他任何品牌)时,请记住,您作为消费者的选择如何驱动OEM,进而驱动电池技术。 智能手机及其电池最终是OEM的责任,但知情的消费者将做出正确和安全的选择。

21Apr 2017

T’is the season of new smartphone releases. The Samsung S8 is here and the drums are beating loud ahead of the much anticipated Apple iPhone 8 (or Edition, or whatever they will call it).

These devices and their makers clearly tout their performance features: faster processors, better camera, pretty displays, more memory….etc. But for this year and possibly for many years to come, the #1 feature is look and feel, otherwise known as industrial design, or just plain ID.

Industrial design includes how the device feels in the hand and eliminating or at least reducing the bezel to make the display reach out to the edges. It also includes thickness and profile, often some type of a rounded design that is comfortable in the palm. Invisible to the consumer are the havoc that these aesthetic features wreak on the battery. For example, thin smartphones mean thinner batteries; I mean really thin (less than 3 mm). Round profiles can mean non-planar batteries to maximize space utilization inside the smartphone. Are these batteries difficult and expensive to make? Absolutely. Given that the battery consumes between ½ to ⅔ of the overall space inside the smartphone, pushing the industrial design means serious business as far as the battery is concerned. Today’s post shows how your choice of a smartphone as a consumer impacts the battery and its underlying design.

First, and above all, every consumer wants his or her smartphone to last at least a full day. Now the definition of a “full day” is subjective, but there is broad consensus that it translates to a battery capacity of at least 3,000 mAh, preferably near 3,500 mAh for the top of the line smartphones. Indeed, if we examine the average capacity in smartphones over the past 5 years, we see that it has grown at about 8% annually. A battery in a 2017 smartphone contains about 40 – 50% more capacity (mAh) than it did in 2012.

Capacity

The smartphones are also getting thinner, so lesser volume available for the battery. The chart below shows the thickness of iPhones (in orange) and Samsung Galaxy line (in blue) over the past few years. The trend is clear!

Capacity is increasing. Volume is decreasing. That’s more energy in a smaller volume. In other words, the energy density is rising rapidly thus creating serious headaches because of various implications to safety and quality as well as cost.

If you are a battery vendor and need to increase energy density, what can you do? First, you can pack more material inside the battery to store more of the lithium ions. Second, you can increase the voltage. If you recall from your high-school physics, electrical energy is the product of electrical charge × voltage. More voltage translates to more energy. If we look at the maximum voltage of batteries that have been shipping commercially in the past few years, we immediately notice that the voltage has risen from 4.20 V to 4.40 V for one individual cell. We even see prototypes today at 4.45 V and above. The chart below shows that going from 4.20 V to 4.40 V provides an additional 20% in energy, or the equivalent of four battery generations.

volts

The challenge is that at these elevated cell voltages there is a heightened risk of lithium plating. Operating at 4.40 V is far from obvious or trivial. The margin of error is extremely small at these voltage levels. Manufacturing defects or design fluctuations are sufficient to cause the formation of lithium metal plating thus risking a potential battery fire.

So when you choose your next smartphone, be it a Samsung, Apple or any other brand, keep in mind how your choice as a consumer drives the OEM and in turn it drives the battery technology. The smartphone and its battery are ultimately the responsibility of the OEM, but an informed consumer will make the right and safe choice.