博客

182014年XNUMX月

有关电池的最常见抱怨是,“不会持续。“换句话说,我们在心中期望我们的移动设备将无限期地由该电池供电……并且当其耗尽时,它应该可以快速充电。 我们将在随后的博客中重新审视这些概念和解决方案,但是现在,我想设定或重新设定一些期望。

首先,请记住要尽可能多地收费。 没电的电池没用,如果不烦恼,等待2或3个小时给电池充电非常不便。 是的,您可以携带其中一个电池套,但是现在您携带的是砖头,而不是轻薄时尚的智能手机。 

如果可以的话,请使用连接到PC或笔记本电脑其中一个端口的USB电缆为移动设备充电。 是的,速度很慢,但是当您进行其他操作时,它将为电池充电。 如果您在办公桌旁,则不需要充电速度。 这比开车上车并意识到您现在只剩20%的剩余费用要好得多。

如果您不坐在办公桌前,或者没有笔记本电脑或PC,请在房屋周围放置几个标准的壁式充电器,并尽可能为设备充电。 当然,请记住要在晚上为设备充电。 在这方面没有魔力……这只是一些简单的学科。 

对于Apple移动设备,除了PC或Mac上的USB端口,还可以使用Apple壁式充电器。 不必担心使用iPad壁式充电器为iPhone充电,反之亦然。 iPad壁式充电器无法更快地为iPhone充电(当然,有传言称iPhone 6 Plus除外)。 

对于Android设备,您可以使用标准的micro-USB壁式充电器(也称为AC适配器)以及PC上的USB端口……这是您的选择。 如果尝试使用平板电脑交流适配器为智能手机充电,则可能会损坏智能手机电池,风险很小。 这是因为,如果您的智能手机是相当新的设备,比如说已经使用了一年或更短的时间,那么智能手机中的软件将保护它避免消耗过多的电量并损坏电池。 但是,如果您的智能手机较旧,则可能会从较大的平板电脑适配器中获取更多电量并损坏电池。

最后一个花絮……平板电脑和智能手机的壁式充电器之间的区别是额定功率,换句话说,就是充电器能够在其输出端提供多少功率。 如果您查看智能手机(iPhone,Android或Windows)随附的标准AC适配器,则其通常显示为“5V / 1.2A输出”。 这意味着它能够在1.2伏时提供5安培的最大电流,或5 x 1.2 = 6瓦的等效输出功率。 这里的输出是通过USB电缆流到您的移动设备的电能。 相比之下,平板电脑交流适配器将提供几乎两倍的功率或约12瓦。 

最后,车载充电器与您的标准AC适配器非常相似。 区别在于,交流适配器从墙壁电源插座获取120V电压,并将其转换为移动设备可以使用的5V电压。 相比之下,车载充电器从汽车点烟器插座获取12V电压,并将其转换为5V。

分享这篇文章
172014年XNUMX月

如今,锂离子可充电电池可用于我们的许多设备中,从便携式PC到平板电脑,智能手机以及许多未连接电源插座的设备。 它取代了较老的电池,例如镍氢(也称为镍氢电池)和毒性更大的镍镉(NiCd)电池。 您仍然可以在当地的电子商店或亚马逊购买NiMH电池:它们的大小与标准AA或AAA电池相同,但可以充电约XNUMX次。 它们通常对您的手电筒或儿童玩具很有用,但不再用于需要更长电池寿命的移动设备或其他小玩意。

锂离子电池是当今的王者。 它的能量大约是镍氢电池的5倍,换句话说,它的寿命要长5倍。 它有许多不同的形状。 它可以是圆柱体,也可以是薄而扁平的矩形,例如iPhone中的矩形。 它还需要适当的护理和操作。 例如,如果未在适当的壁式充电器中正确充电,则可能着火或恶化,从而爆炸。 

iPhone 6中的锂离子电池
iPhone 6中的锂离子电池

锂离子可充电电池的主要特征之一是其最大容量可容纳电荷。 这是通过充满电后的电荷量来衡量的,以毫安小时为单位给出,缩写为mAh。 它不是能量的单位。 它是电荷的单位。 数字越大越好。 更多的电荷意味着更长的寿命和更长的使用时间。 可以把它想象成一桶水……容量告诉您水桶的容量。 

为了将电荷转换为能量,将电池电压乘以mAh。 大多数锂离子电池的电压约为3.8伏(请注意,这比从您的家庭插座输出的典型120伏要小得多)。 因此,如果我们使用iPhone 6电池,其容量为1,810 mAh(请参阅电池照片的底部)。 当我们将其乘以3.82伏特的电压时,我们得到的能量为6.91瓦时(缩写为Wh)。 再一次,数字越大越好。

因此,让我对此进行透视。 一加仑汽油包含34,000(是,千)瓦时。 一加仑的汽油相当于将近5,000个iPhone 6电池的能量。 因此,这里有个重点:您应该理解为什么很难使可充电电池持续很长时间。

现在,仅仅因为您有一个给定体积的水桶,并不意味着您的水桶中有那么多的水。 首先,您需要加油。 这正是“充电”对电池的作用。 它充满电荷。 电池充满电后,其电池表的读数为100%。 那是显示在智能手机屏幕右上角的小量表。 惊喜,惊喜,它被称为“燃油表”。 当您使用电池时,仪表读数会降低直到达到0%。 据推测,您的焦虑水平在达到零水平之前已经上升了很多。

好的,这是一个小秘密。 电量计的零读数并非真正为空。 这只是意味着您不能再从电池中取出电量-主要是出于安全原因。 设备中的电子系统足够智能,可以说出“停止”并关闭它。 因此,如果您将移动电池的电量减为零,也可以。 带“空”电池可能不方便,但不会损坏您的锂离子电池。 不,锂离子电池没有记忆效应。

以后再说。

分享这篇文章
162014年XNUMX月

1.简单介绍。

如果您是一个消费者,想知道为什么移动设备中的锂离子电池没有达到您的期望,那么此博客适合您。 如果您在技术上精通而又不是化学家,并且经常想知道这种锂离子电池的工作方式,那么此博客适合您。 如果您只是想知道如何从锂离子电池中获取更多能量,那么再次,此博客适合您。

您已经在Internet上搜索了有关Gizmo内电池的信息,其工作原理,应如何保养,花哨的技术术语实际上是什么意思,制造商向您保证的内容以及您真正获得的信息……以及我敢肯定,您经常会感到沮丧,因为,对您来说,几乎没有什么意义。 你不是一个人。

事实是,电池长期以来一直是技术的一个被遗忘的角落。 在移动设备成为我们日常生活的基础之前,电池就意味着我们汽车引擎盖下的黑匣子。 电池并没有唤起“清洁”或“高科技”。 我们想要一种即使在最寒冷的冬天也能使发动机运转的低成本电池。

然后是移动设备,现在是电动汽车……事情变得更加复杂。 每个人都有意见或理论。 “不,不要排空!“ 要么 ”当心,它具有记忆效应。事实是,大多数建议并非基于真实的科学,也没有什么价值。 真正的电池专家很难找到……大学的毕业生还不够,而且需求量很大。

该博客既可以作为独立的帖子阅读,也可以作为一个连续的阅读阅读。 标题汇总在右侧的目录中。 根据您的流利程度从任何主题开始。

在下一篇文章中,我们将从基础知识开始:当描述电池时,这些术语的真正含义是什么。

分享这篇文章

Blog

17Sep 2014

The lithium-ion rechargeable battery lives in many of our devices today, from our laptop PCs, to our tablets, and our smartphones, and many other devices that are not tethered to a power outlet. It has replaced the older generation of batteries such as nickel-metal-hydrides (also known with their abbreviation NiMH) and the more toxic nickel-cadmium (NiCd) batteries. You can still buy NiMH batteries at your local electronics store or Amazon: they are the size of the standard AA or AAA battery but can be recharged about a hundred times. They tend to be useful for your light torch or your children’s toys, but they are not used any longer in mobile devices or other gizmos that require longer battery life.

The lithium-ion battery is today’s king of the hill. It contains about 5 times more energy than the NiMH battery…in other words, it lasts 5 times longer. It comes in many different shapes; it can be a cylinder or it can be in a thin flat rectangular shape such as the one in your iPhone. It also requires proper care and operation. For example, if not properly charged in its appropriate wall charger, it may catch fire or worse yet, explode. 

lithium ion battery in iPhone 6
Lithium-ion battery in the iPhone 6

One of the key characteristics of a lithium-ion rechargeable battery is its maximum capacity to hold electrical charge. This is measured by the amount of electrical charge when fully charged, and is given in units of milliamp-hours, abbreviated as mAh. It is not a unit of energy. It is a unit of electrical charge. Higher numbers are better. More electrical charge means longer life and longer use time. Think of it as a bucket of water….capacity tells you the volume of your bucket. 

To convert from electrical charge to energy, one multiplies mAh by the battery voltage. Most lithium-ion batteries have a voltage of about 3.8 Volts (notice, this is way less than the typical 120 Volts out of your home outlet). So if we take the iPhone 6 battery, its capacity is 1,810 mAh (look at the bottom of the battery photo). When we multiply it by its voltage 3.82 Volts, then we get an energy of 6.91 Watt-hours (abbreviated as Wh). Once again, higher numbers are better.

So let me put this in perspective. One gallon of gasoline contains 34,000 (yes, thousand) Watt-hours. One gallon of gas has the equivalent energy of nearly 5,000 iPhone 6 batteries. So a takeaway here: You should appreciate why it has been difficult to make rechargeable batteries last for a very long long time.

Now, just because you have a bucket that has a given volume, it does not mean that you have that much volume of water in the bucket. First, you need to fill your bucket. That’s exactly what “charging” does to the battery. It fills it with electrical charge. When the battery is fully charged, its battery meter reads 100%. That’s the little gauge that shows up on the upper right hand side of your smartphone screen. Surprise, surprise, it is called the “fuel gauge.” When you use your battery, the meter reading decreases until it gets to 0%. Presumably, your anxiety level has risen a lot before you reach the zero level.

Ok, now here’s a little secret. Zero-percent reading of the fuel gauge is not really empty. It just means that you can no longer take charge out of the battery — mostly for safety reasons. The electronic systems in your device are smart enough to say STOP and shut it down. So it’s ok if you take your mobile battery to zero. It may be inconvenient to have an “empty” battery but it will not damage your lithium-ion battery. And no, there’s no memory effect in lithium-ion batteries.

More later.

Share this post
16Sep 2014

1. JUST A SIMPLE INTRODUCTION.

If you are a consumer who has wondered why your lithium-ion battery in your mobile device fails your expectations, this blog is for you. If you are technically savvy but you are not a chemist, and often wondered how this lithium-ion battery works the way it does, then this blog is for you. If you are just curious about how to get more out of your lithium-ion battery, then again, this blog is for you.

You have searched the internet for information on the battery inside your gizmo, how it works, how you should take care of it, what the fancy technical terms really mean, and what the manufacturer is promising you and what you are really obtaining….and I am sure you often felt frustrated because, well, little of it made sense to you. You are not alone.

The fact is batteries have for a long time been a forgotten corner of technology. Before mobile devices became anchored in our daily lives, the battery meant that blackbox under the hood of our cars. Batteries did not evoke “clean” or “high-tech.” We wanted a low-cost battery that cranked our engines even in the coldest days of winter.

Then came mobile devices, and now electrified vehicles… and things got more complicated. Everyone had an opinion, or a theory. “No, don’t discharge to empty!” or “Beware, it has a memory effect.” The fact is most of this advice is not based on real science and has little merits. True battery experts are hard to find…universities don’t graduate enough of them, and they are in high demand.

This blog is intended to be read either as individually independent posts, or collectively as one continuous reading. The titles are summarized in the Table of Contents on the right hand side. Start with whichever topic you would like depending on your fluency level.

In the next post, we will start with the basics: What the terms really mean when one describes a battery.

Share this post