242019年XNUMX月

你是一名企业家。 你知道电池正在为未来提供动力。 您认为目前的电池技术不能满足市场需求。 你发明了一种新的电池技术。 你甚至可能有一些早期的原型,显示出一些特殊的希望。 因此,您启动了一家新公司,将您的新技术商业化。 欢迎来到Battery Gold Rush, 21st世纪。

在第一次淘金热, ca。 1849,许多人发了财,还有许多人失去了财富。 新的电池淘金热将没有太大的不同。 那么你在追求电池圣杯时应该考虑哪些因素?

我将在此假设您的电池技术非常出色。您已对其进行了测试。 它在实验室工作。 我将在这里讨论的是你和你的投资者是否会在这项努力中赚钱。

需要考虑五个因素。

  • 电池市场的经济性对你有利吗?

几年前,作为一名年轻的研究生,我不断被建议将我的论文工作从硅转移到砷化镓(GaAs)。 这些新材料被称为III-V族化合物,因为它们在元素周期表中的位置,提供了比硅集成电路更好的性能。 然而今天,硅主导半导体领域只是因为它的经济性远远超过任何其他竞争材料系统的经济学。 这里有一个教训,新兴电池技术从一开始就具有经济可行性。

随着电池越来越多地成为从智能手机到电动汽车的各种能源供电,需要注意的一个关键经济指标是$ / kWh:电池内存储的每单位能源成本。 对于日本,韩国和中国的大型制造商而言,成本指标目前介于每千瓦时100和$ 150之间。 预计100将降至2025以下,此时电动汽车的成本与传统内燃机汽车相当。

如果您的技术增加了这个成本,或者您的商业模式基于显着的溢价,那么您将面临严重的商业逆风。 这并不意味着您将失败,但这意味着您的产品的采用可能仅限于利基市场,或者您的公司采用率可能太慢,无法实现盈利。

  • 你确定你有一个有效的商业模式吗?

大多数电池创业公司正在探索各种商业模式。 一些人喜欢建造整个电池。 其他人认为制造这些材料就足够了。 其他一些人正在开发技术并销售其基础知识产权。 哪一个更好? 您需要自己快速验证业务模型。

如果您选择构建整个电池,您是否能够足够快地扩展制造和分销? 您是否拥有与现任企业竞争所需的投资资金? 加大电池制造业务的成本可能高达数十亿美元。 历史对电池初创公司并不友好。 的兴衰 A123系统 是一个值得认真研究的商业案例。

相反,如果您决定建立销售材料的商业模式,那么您的客户现在是电池制造商,其中绝大多数都位于亚洲。 您的技术可能与众不同,但您的客户也是您的竞争对手。 您将如何保护您的知识产权? 他们会向您支付您认为创新的价值吗? 历史在这里也没有善意。 您需要开箱即用,试验并找出解决商业模式困境的有效方案。

  • 您的产品会扩展吗?

我在创新电池材料实验室看过许多令人惊叹的演示。 看到这种程度的创新真的令人兴奋。 但我不知道这些最近的电池材料想法已经进入批量生产,至少现在还没有。 随着公司开始加大生产力度,许多问题都会让他们头疼。 各批次制造的一致性; 满足大型电池的规格; 成本超支; 可用资本稀缺; 投资者疲劳只是逆风的几个例子。

  • 你了解你的“退出”机会吗?

您的资金来自期望收益的投资者。 5X或更高的回报被认为是好的; 10X或更高版本被认为是伟大的。 因此,如果您的公司需要200百万到500百万美元的资金来达到某种程度的规模化运营(并且希望盈利能力),那么贵公司的预期“退出”估值范围为1亿到5亿。 恭喜您在最近的筹款活动中取得了这些估值。 很少有公司能够实现这一里程碑。 但潜在买家会支付这些估值来收购贵公司吗? 亚洲大多数现有的电池公司都表现出严重的犹豫支付这样的估值。 相反,您可以选择采取首次公开募股(IPO)的路径。 A123就是这样一个例子。 但要小心,公开市场对公司估值不利,利润率低,增长轨迹不温不火。 在任何情况下,“退出”路径 - 即您和您的投资者将如何将您在公司的股份变为现金 - 对于电池公司来说并不是很好。 没有简单的先例可以遵循,而且这条道路充满了现任者,他们可能会选择等待你去绝望。

  • 龙怎么样?

中国正在迅速成为电池制造业的强国。 这意味着中国电池制造商可能会成为贵公司的客户或合作伙伴,甚至可能是潜在的收购者。 鉴于美国和中国之间的地缘政治紧张局势,美国政府很难根据出口改革规则授权将您的技术或产品转让给中国。 2018的国防授权法案。 您是否会选择在其他任何地方建立您的公司,可能在欧洲或其他允许您与中国合作的地区? 如果是这样,你需要在早期的努力中找到答案。

我的意图不是吓唬你。 电池行业需要创新者。 但仅靠创新是不够的。 实现财务成功对您,您的员工和您的投资者至关重要。

24Jun 2019

You are an entrepreneur. You understand that batteries are powering the future. You think present battery technology falls short of market demands. You invented a new battery technology. You may even have some early prototypes that show some exceptional promise. So you start a new company to commercialize your new technology. Welcome to the Battery Gold Rush, ca. 21st century.

In the first Gold Rush, ca. 1849, many made fortunes, and many others lost riches. The new Battery Gold Rush will not be much different. So what factors should you be thinking about in your pursuit of the battery holy grail?

I will assume here that your battery technology is exceptional.You have tested it. It works in the laboratory. What I will address here is whether you and your investors will make money in this endeavor.

Five factors require consideration.

  • Are the economics of the battery market in your favor?

As a young graduate student several years back, I was constantly advised to move my thesis work away from silicon to gallium arsenide (GaAs). Known as III-V compounds for their position in the periodic table of elements, these new materials offered immensely better performance than silicon integrated circuits. Yet today, silicon dominates the semiconductor landscape simply because its economics far outweighed the economics of any other competing material system. There is a lesson here for emerging battery technologies to be economically viable from the get go.

As batteries increasingly become the energy source powering everything from smartphones to electric cars, one key economic metric to pay attention to is $/kWh: the cost per unit of energy stored within the battery. For the big manufacturers in Japan, Korea and China, the cost metric stands today somewhere between $100 and $150 per kWh.  It is forecasted to drop below $100 by 2025 at which point the cost of an electric car is equal to that of a traditional combustion engine vehicle. 

If your technology increases this cost, or your business model is based on a significant premium, then you are at risk of serious commercial headwinds. It does not mean that you will fail, but it means that the adoption of your products may be limited to niche markets, or that the rate of adoption may be too slow for your company to reach profitability.

  • Are you sure you have a working business model?

Most battery startup companies are exploring a wide variety of business models. Some favor building the entire battery. Others feel that manufacturing the materials are sufficient. A few others are content developing the technology and selling its underlying intellectual property. Which one is better? You will need to quickly validate the business model for yourself. 

If you choose to build the entire battery, will you be able to scale your manufacturing and distribution fast enough? Will you have the investment capital required to compete with the incumbents? Ramping up a battery manufacturing operation could cost in the billions of dollars. History has not been kind to battery startups. The rise and fall of A123 Systems is a business case worthy of serious study.

If, instead, you decide to build your business model on selling materials, your customers are now the battery manufacturers, the  vast majority of whom are based in Asia. Your technology may be differentiated but your customers are also your competitors. How will you protect your intellectual property? Will they pay you what you think is the value of your innovation? History also has not been kind here too. You will need to think out of the box to experiment and identify a working solution to the business model dilemma.

  • Will your product scale?

I have seen many amazing demonstrations in the laboratory of innovative battery materials. It is truly exciting to see this degree of innovation. But I am not aware that any of these recent battery material ideas have made it to volume production, at least not yet. As companies begin to ramp up manufacturing, many problems rear their ugly head. Uniformity of manufacturing across lots; meeting specifications on larger batteries; cost overruns; scarcity of available capital; investor fatigue are only a few examples of headwinds.

  • Do you understand your “exit” opportunities?

Your capital comes from investors who have an expectation of returns. A return of 5X or more is considered good; 10X or more is considered great.  So if you company requires $200 million to $500 million of capital to reach some degree of scaled operation (and hopefully profitability), then the expected “exit” valuation of your company is in the range of $1 billion to $5 billion. Congratulations if you achieved these valuations in your recent fundraising round. Very few companies can achieve this milestone. But will a potential buyer pay these valuations to acquire your company? Most incumbent battery companies in Asia have shown serious hesitation paying such valuations. You might, instead, choose to take the path of an initial public offering (IPO). A123 is such an example. But be careful, public markets have not been kind to company valuations with poor margins and tepid growth trajectories. In any case, the “exit” path — i.e., how you and your investor will turn your shares in the company into cash — is not well charted for battery companies. There are no easy precedents to follow and the path is fraught with incumbents who might choose to wait for you to reach desperation.

  • What about the Dragon?

China is rapidly becoming the battery manufacturing powerhouse. It means that Chinese battery manufacturers will likely be customers or partners of your company, or even potentially acquirers. Given the geopolitical tensions between the USA and China, it is difficult that the US Government will authorize the transfer of your technology or products to China under the export reform rules of the Defense Authorization Act of 2018. Will you choose to build your company anywhere else, may be in Europe or other geographies that will allow you to work with China? If so, you will need to figure that out early on in your endeavor.

My intent here is not to scare you off. The battery industry is in need of innovators. But innovation alone is not sufficient. Reaching financial success is essential to you, your employees and your investors.