082019年XNUMX月

假设您喜欢骑自行车,并且想要在不使用花哨的电脑和GPS的情况下测量速度。 你会怎么做?

高中物理到救援! 我们所需要的只是车轮的周长,然后计算车轮在我们用秒表测量的一定时间内的转数。 速度, v,计算为转数, N,乘以周长, L - 这是车轮行驶的总距离 - 除以测量的时间, T。 输入一个简单的等式:

我们用半径替换圆周, R,因为更容易测量车轮的半径:

速度方程变为:

因此,测量车轮半径,然后计算转数,并用手表计时......等瞧,你可以测量速度。

您很快意识到您有一个近似的速度,因为它没有考虑可能引入错误的其他因素,例如温度。 在炎热的一天,车轮扩大一点,使半径更长。 然后你意识到橡胶轮胎的厚度并不准确 - 它因制造商而异。 随着老化,橡胶会磨损。 它变得更薄,因此半径稍小。 你可能会认为这些是很小的影响但是如果你在比赛,他们可以在输赢之间做出改变。

那么自行车车轮与电池的相关性是什么?

科学家们了解电池内部的电化学。 他们用许多复杂的方程式来代表这门科学 - 比如菲克定律,塔菲尔方程和其他几种数学形式。 然而,这些方程仍然不足以描述现实生活中的电池。

与车轮非常相似,来自同一制造商或不同制造商的电池制造存在显着差异。 温度依赖性,老化,缺陷的存在......等。 是影响电池性能和安全性的重要额外考虑因素。

捕获这些“真实”考虑因素是使电池模型有用的原因。 “模型”是指电池的足够精确的表示,可以用来做出有意义的结论。 例如,可以使用良好的模型来预测电池的寿命终止。 它可用于识别假冒电池或在有缺陷的电池成为火灾危险之前找到它们。

开发模型需要收集数据 - 数百万次测量 - 以捕获制造变化,温度依赖性,缺陷等。 从不同制造商和整个电路板操作条件范围内收集不同类型电池的统计上有意义的数据需要很长时间。

电池模型不是静态的 - 它必须随着时间的推移而改进或者它已经过时了。 必须不断更新它,以便学习并适应更新的电池材料,更新的电池设计和制造工艺。 这个学习过程可以在测试实验室中进行,也可以在现场进行 - 换句话说,智能算法可以学习部署在智能手机或用户手中的其他设备中的电池。

拥有智能算法和有用的电池模型是一个强大的组合,可以对电池的健康和安全做出关键预测......这可以区分安全电池和火灾。

08Apr 2019

Let’s say you love to ride your bicycle and that you want to measure speed without using fancy computers and GPS. What would you do?

High-school physics to the rescue! All we need is the circumference of the wheel then count the number of rotations the wheel makes in a certain amount of time that we can measure with our stopwatch. The speed, v, is calculated as the number of rotations, N, multiplied by the circumference, L — that’s the total distance traveled by the wheel — divided by the measured time, T. Put in one simple equation:

We replace the circumference with the radius, R, because it is easier to measure the radius of the wheel:

The speed equation becomes:

Therefore, measure the wheel radius, then count the number of rotations, and clock them with a watch…et voila, you can measure speed.

You quickly realize that you have an approximation of speed because it fails to take into account other factors that can introduce errors, for example temperature. On a hot day, the wheel expands a little making the radius longer.  Then you realize that the thickness of the rubber tire is not exact — it varies across manufacturers. With aging, the rubber gets worn out. It becomes thinner and consequently the radius is a little smaller. You may think these are small effects but if you are racing, they can make the difference between winning and losing.

So what is the relevance of a bicycle wheel to a battery?

Scientists understand the electrochemistry inside a battery.  They represent this science with many complex equations — like Fick’s law, Tafel’s equation, and several other mathematical forms. Yet, these equations remain insufficient to describe batteries in real life. 

Much like the wheel, there are significant variations in manufacturing across batteries from the same manufacturer or from different manufacturers. Temperature dependence, aging, presence of defects…etc. are significant additional considerations that impact the performance and safety of the battery.

Capturing these “real-life” considerations is what makes a model of the battery useful.  By “model” I mean a sufficiently accurate representation of the battery that one can use to make meaningful conclusions. For example, a good model can be used to predict the end of life of the battery. It can be used to identify counterfeit batteries or find defective batteries before they become a fire hazard.

Developing the model entails collecting data — millions of measurements — to capture manufacturing variations, temperature dependence, defects…etc. It takes a long time to collect statistically meaningful data across different types of batteries, from different manufacturers and across a board range of operating conditions.

The battery model is not static — it must improve over time or it becomes obsolete. One must keep updating it so it learns and adapts to newer battery materials, newer battery designs and manufacturing processes. This learning process can be in the test lab, or it can be in the field — in other words, intelligent algorithms can learn from batteries deployed in smartphones or other devices already in the hands of users.

Possessing intelligent algorithms and useful battery models is a powerful combination to make key predictions about the battery’s health and safety…that can make the difference between a safe battery and a fire.